Tohono O'odham Legislative BranchWelcome
Tohono O'odham Code
Representatives and Committees
Contact Us


The Legislative Council is composed of 22 Legislative Council representatives, including two from each of the Nation's 11 districts. Two representatives are elected from within the Council to serve two-year terms as the Council chairperson and vice-chairperson. The remaining representatives each serve on three of the Legislative Council's 12 standing committees. The Council is governed by the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.

Laws Enacted or Amended 2015-2017 Session
  • Courts and Procedures amendment, 6 T.O.C. Chapter 1 (new Section 1215 - Master Jury List), effective January 21, 2016.
  • Enrollment Ordinance amendments, 14 T.O.C. Chapter 1 (new Article X, Section 5 - Master Jury List and Section 6 - Notice of Address or Name Change), effective January 21, 2016.
  • Office of the Attorney General amendments, 20 T.O.C. Chapter 1, adopting December 2015 amendments (increasing from three to ten years the minimum years of experience in the practice of law required for the position of attorney general), effective December 16, 2015.
  • Voyeurism law, 7 T.O.C. Chapter 1, Section 9.15, "as an additional tool for protecting public safety" effective December 15, 2015.
  • Legislative Rules amendments, adopting October 2015 amendments; Article 1 (conforming amendments), Article III (new Section 3 - Announcements), Article V (summarized minutes), and Article IX (expedited resolutions) effective October 13, 2015
  • Nonmember Hunting Permits suspended, 19 T.O.C. Chapter 4, Article 1 (suspends Ordinance No. 32 and establishes moratorium on nonmember hunting through May 17, 2017) effective May 15, 2015

Tohono O'odham Legislative Branch, P.O. Box 837, Sells, Arizona 85634, 520-383-2470 Phone, 520-383-2479 Fax