RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Evelyn Juan to the NCAI Workgroup on Trust Management Policy and Procedures)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>2000-025</u>

1	WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) at its annual meeting in Palm						
2	Springs, California held October 4 - 8, 1999 agreed to form four (4) national						
3	workgroups comprised of tribal leaders to advise and work with the Bureau of						
4	Indian Affairs (BIA) on four (4) issues affecting Indians nationwide; and						
5	WHEREAS, NCAI encourages tribal leaders to continue their strong participation and to have						
6	a voice on important national issues and the Tohono O'odham Nation wishes to do						
7	the same; and						
8	WHEREAS, there is a workgroup established by NCAI on Trust Management Policy and						
9	Procedures which will actively solicit participation from tribal leaders and from						
10	tribal groups which have a focus on Trust Management reform to work with and						
11	have a voice regarding the BIA's trust management policies and procedures; and						
12	WHEREAS, the Chairman of the Legislative Council in consultation with the Chairman of the						
13	Nation, recommends Evelyn Juan, Chairperson of the Budget and Finance						
14	Committee be appointed to serve on the national workgroup representing the						
15	Tohono O'odham Nation.						
16	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Council does hereby appoint						
17	Evelyn Juan, Chairperson of the Tohono O'odham Nation Legislative Council						
18	Budget and Finance Committee as the Tohono O'odham Nation's representative						
19	on the NCAI Trust Management Policy and Procedures Workgroup.						
22 23 24 25	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>06TH.</u> day of <u>JANUARY, 2000</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,079.6</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>85.9</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 <u>(b)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of						
26 27	June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).						
28	TOHONQ O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
29							
30	Alem Kan						
31	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman						
32	10th day of January, 2000						
33	[0day 01, 20_00						

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-025

(Appointing Evelyn Juan to the NCAI Workgroup Trust Management Policy and Procedures) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST: and Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary 06_ day of Anny____, 20_00_. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the <u>10th</u> day of <u>forwary</u>, 20<u>00</u> at <u>2:42</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL **Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman** on the ______ day of _______, 20_00 at ______, 20_00 at ______, 20_00 [X] APPROVED **[] DISAPPROVED** EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _____ day of Serving____, 20_00, at 11:34 o'clock, ____.M. ant tela Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING EVELYN JUAN TO THE NCAI WORKGROUP ON TRUST MANAGEMENT POLICY AND PROCEDURES

MOVED: COUNCILMAN ALEX J. RAMON

SECOND: VICE CHAIRMAN AMBROSE ENCINAS

DATE: JANUARY 06, 2000

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew) 2. RITA MARTINEZ	85.9			х	
	(Nicholas Jose)	85.9	Х			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	186.35	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ** ()	186.35	X			
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	X			
10014	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	х			
165.9	() 2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	х			
BABOQUIVARI 286.5	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	х			x
200.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	х			
GU ACHI 209.6	1. CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	х			
209.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON	104.8	X			
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	х			
130.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4	x			
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. ()	64.05	х			
120.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	64.05	х			
GU VO 160.0	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	x			х
100.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	x			
HICKIWAN	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05	x			
158.1	(Sumey Samos) 2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	x			
222.6	() 2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	x			x
T	2,165.5	2,079.6	-0-	85.9	[03]	

**PASSED VOTES