## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving Tribal Representation for the National Task Force to the Indian Child Welfare Act)

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-028

1	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians passed a resolution (PSC-99-010) to
2		establish a National Task Force of Tribal Leaders to evaluate tribally proposed
3		amendments to the Indian Child Welfare Act; and
4	WHEREAS,	the Indian Child Welfare Act (ICWA) was designated in consultation with tribes and
5		was enacted to support tribes in the protection of their children from unjust
6		removal and to strengthen their families; and
7	WHEREAS,	various members of Congress from time to time, have advocated for a complete
8		${\bf repeal}\ of\ the\ ICWA\ or\ have\ presented\ other\ legislation\ which\ seriously\ limits\ tribal$
9		sovereignty with regards to the protection of Indian children; and
10	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation can designate a tribal leader as a representative to the
11		National Task Force; and
12	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation supports and approves the appointment of Chairman
13		Edward Manuel to serve in this capacity to the Task Force and San Lucy Legislative
14		Representative, Albert Manuel, Jr. will serve as alternate to the Task Force.
15	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby
16		support and approve Chairman Edward Manuel as the Representative to the
17		National Task Force and Albert Manuel, Jr., Legislative Representative, as the
18		alternate representative to the National Task Force.
19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26	day of <u>JANU</u> <u>-0-</u> AGAINST by Section 1 Tohono O'( Secretary -	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>06TH.</u> <u>JARY, 2000</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,165.5</u> FOR; I; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council <u>(b)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of 34 (48 Stat. 984).
27		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
28 29		

Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman

10th day of January , 20 00

29 **30** 

31 **32** 

33

ATTEST:	
Mulan	
Julianna Saraficio, Acting L	egislative Secretary
Ob day of Anna	<u>7</u> , 20 <u>0</u> .
Said Resolution was submi	itted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the
P M pursuant to the	provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution a
	provisions of section 5 of Article vir of the constitution a proval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove i
48 hours of submittal.	provided upon his minute to extract approve of disapprove i
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Na Kan
	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
	1182
$[\chi]$ APPROVED	on the // day of fannary , 20 00
/ ·	on the
DISAPPROVED	at / O420 o'clock, _ M.
	Market
	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
Returned to the Legislative	Secretary on the day of
Xanu -	_, 20 <i>00</i> , at <u>//-34</u> o'clock, <u></u> .M.
1 and 1	, at
1 total total	<del></del>

ACTION: APPROVING TRIBAL REPRESENTATION FOR THE NATIONAL TASK FORCE TO THE INDIAN CHILD

WELFARE ACT

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN BARBARA SALVICIO

DATE: JANUARY 06, 2000

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	X			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	Х			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	186.35	X			
J 1.	2. EVELYN JUAN ( )	186.35	X			
SCHUK TOAK 133,4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	x			
133.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	X			
165.9	2. DENNIS RAMON	82.95	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	X			X
286.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	X			
GU ACHI 209.6	CAMILLUS LOPEZ     (Louis Johnson)	104.8	x			
209.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON	104.8	X			
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	x			
130.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4	X			
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	x			
120.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ( )	64.05	X			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	x			X
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	X			
HICKIWAN	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05	x			
158.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	X			
222.6	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	X			X
T	OTAL	2,165.5	2,165.5	-0-	-0-	[03]

<sup>\*\*</sup>PASSED VOTES