RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Opposition on Use of the Nation's Air Space and Aboriginal Lands By the United States Air Force)

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-142

1	WHEREAS,	the renewal of the land withdrawal of Barry M. Goldwater Range by Public Law 106-65
2		in October 1999 means that United States Air Force use of the air space of the Tohono
3		O'odham Nation will continue in the future; and
4	WHEREAS,	the people and the lands of the Tohono O'odham Nation continue to be impacted by
5		the Air Force's continued low level flights, persistent sonic booms, and repeated
6		airplane crashes; and
7	WHEREAS,	in the last three years there has been one A-10 airplane crash, one accidental
8		release of a white phosphorus rocket, and one intentional release of an inert
9		Maverick missile and two jet fuel tanks on the lands of the Nation, all resulting
10		in endangerment of human life, damage to land, animals and vegetation, and
11		the expenditure of significant resources of the Nation in environmental cleanup;
12		and
13	WHEREAS,	Barry M. Goldwater Range is located on the aboriginal lands of the O'odham known
14		as Papagueria, and the Air Force use of the lands and skies of the Goldwater Range
15		continues to harm important cultural and religious resources on the Goldwater
16		Range.
17	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Nation opposes the continued
18		use of the Nation's air space and aboriginal lands by the United States Air Force.
19	BE IT FURTE	HER RESOLVED that the Appropriations Committee is hereby authorized and directed
20		to bring this request to the appropriate Agencies, Members and Committees of
21		Congress.
24 25 26 27 28	of MARCH. AGAINST; -(Section 1_(i Tohono 0'0	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>21ST</u> , day <u>2000</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,165.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-12.</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by <u>10.</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Ddham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant and an Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June Stat. 984).

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>2000-142</u> (Opposition on Use of the Nation's A Page 2 of 2	ir Space and Aboriginal Lands By the United States Air Force)								
1 2		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
3										
4		Jan								
_		Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
5 6 7		21 day of MANOS, 2000								
8	ATTEST:									
9										
10	Denne M. Sen	- fa								
11										
12	11	ılianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary								
13	21 day of Mand	20 OO								
13 14	uay or									
15	Said Resolution was submitted for	or approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohon								
	\$I									
16	II -	ay of								
17	11 - 1	of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will becom								
18		his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hour								
19	of submittal.									
20		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
21										
22		the state of the s								
23	_	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman								
24										
25										
26										
27		alla a								
28	[∕∕] APPROVED	on the 22 day of March, 2060								
29										
30	[] DISAPPROVED	at 9.45 o'clock, A .M.								
31										
32		4.5								
33		Houry Co. Ramon								
34		EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman								
35		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
36										
37										
38										
39	Returned to the Legislative Secreta	ary on the 22 day of								
40	1 A									
41	March 20	00, at 11:40 o'clock, x.M.								
41	,20_	, 46 (1) (0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0								
	Alma on Star	- fre								
43										
44	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislat	ive sectedity								
	11									

ACTION: OPPOSITION ON USE OF THE NATION'S AIR SPACE AND ABORIGINAL LANDS BY THE UNITED STATES AIR

FORCE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN GLORIA MONTANA

DATE: MARCH 21, 2000

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	x			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	x			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	186.35	x			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35	x			
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	x			
133.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	x			
165.9	2. DENNIS RAMON	82.95	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	X			
286.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	X			
GU ACHI	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	X			
209.6	2. ALEX J. RAMON	104.8	X			X
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	X			
150.8	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4	X			
SAN LUCY	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	X			
128.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	64.05	х			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	X			X
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	x			
HICKIWAN	1. ALEX JOSE (Shirley Santos)	79.05	X			
158.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	х			
222.6	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	X			
T	OTAL	2,165.5	2,165.5	-0-	-0-	[02]

^{**}PASSED VOTES