RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving SAWRSA Amendments)

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-438

1	WHEREAS,	the Southern Arizona Water Rights Settlement Act of 1982 ("SAWRSA") has not been					
2		fully implemented; and					
3	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council established the SAWRSA Task Force,					
4		consisting of representatives of the Tohono O'odham Nation, San Xavier District,					
5		Schuk Toak District and San Xavier allottees, for the purpose of negotiating					
6		Amendments which would fully implement SAWRSA; and					
7	WHEREAS,	the SAWRSA Task Force has conducted numerous meetings and negotiating sessions					
8		internally and with all major parties affected by SAWRSA; and					
9	WHEREAS,	the SAWRSA Task Force and the non-Indian parties have agreed to recommend the					
10		introduction in this session of the United States Congress of a September 11, 2000					
11		draft of the SAWRSA Amendments, a copy of which is attached hereto.					
12	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT:						
13		1. The Tohono O'odham Legislative Council approves the introduction in this					
14		session of the United States Congress of the September 11, 2000 draft of the					
15		SAWRSA Amendments, in the form attached hereto; provided that the					
16		reintroduction of the Amendments in the United States Congress when it					
17		convenes in 2001, and delivery as part of the Amendments of the various					
18		agreements and documents referred to therein, are subject to further approval					
19		of the Legislative Council.					
20		2. The Chairman of the Nation is authorized and directed to deliver the September					
21		11, 2000 draft of the SAWRSA Amendments to Senator Jon Kyl and such other					
22		persons who require such draft for purposes of introducing the Amendments on					
23		the terms described above.					
24 25	The foregoi	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>26TH.</u> Day					
26		BER, 2000 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,422.85 FOR;					
27		NST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council					
28 29		2 of Article XVII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant					
30		Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June					
31	18, 1934 (48	Stat. 984).					
32							

	(Approving SAWRSA Amendments) Page 2 of 2							
1	Te	OHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
2		\mathcal{H}						
3								
4	D	ennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman						
5 6	2	7 day of September, 20 00						
7 8	ATTEST:							
9								
10	May	_						
11 12	Tulianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary							
13	26 day of Soptenhy, 20 00.							
14								
15	Said Resolution was submitted for approv	alto the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham						
16	Nation on the 27th day of September, 20 00 at 8:38 o'clock, A.M.							
17	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
18	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of							
19	submittal.							
20	ТОН	ONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
21		//						
22		Men /						
23	Den	nis Ramon, Legislative Chairman						
24								
25								
26		of 11.						
27		ne 27 day of September, 20 00						
28	[X] APPROVED on the	ne <u>Al</u> day of <u>Sefflont (17)</u> , 20 <u>00</u>						
29		//						
30	[] DISAPPROVED at 2	3.40 o'clock, A.M.						
31								
32		M (1/4/1/2)						
33		Maray /// langer						
34		ARD D. MANUEL, Chairman						
35	ТОН	ONO O'ODHAM NATION						
36								
37								
38								
39		L. 27 Janes						
40	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{27}{}$ day of							
41	September 20 00 at 8:3	T ciclock An M						
42 43	September, 20 00, at 8:57 o'clock, A.M.							
43 44	hemin my Shu br							
44 45	170	 retarv						
73	Junanna Satancio, Acung Legislauve Secretary							

ACTION: APPROVING SAWRSA AMENDMENTS

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TONY BURRELL SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: SEPTEMBER 26, 2000

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew) 2. RITA MARTINEZ **	85.9	Х			
	(Nicholas Jose)	85.9	X			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	186.35		х		
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35		х		
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	х			
133.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS ()	66.7		x		
SAN XAVIER 165.9	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	х			
103.9	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	x			
BABOQUIVARI 286.5	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	x			
200.3	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25		x		
GU ACHI 209.6	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	x			
207.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	104.8	х			
PISINEMO 156.8	BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	x			
130.6	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	78.4	х			Х
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	х			
120.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	64.05	x			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0		х		
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0		X		
HICKIWAN 158.1	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	79.05	x			
130.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	x			
CHUKUT KUK 222.6	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	x			
222.0	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	х			
T	OTAL	2,165.5	1,422.85	742.65	-0-	[01]

^{**}PASSED VOTES