RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the 57th Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention)

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-534 WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its 57th Annual Convention 1 2 in St. Paul, Minnesota on November 13 - 17, 2000; and 3 WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation is a long time member in good standing with the 4 National Congress of American Indians; and 5 WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council believes it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to renew its membership in the National Congress of 6 7 American Indians. NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby 8 9 authorizes the following members to attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham Nation's Delegation to the 57th Annual National Congress of American Indians 10 11 **Convention:** 12 1. Mary Ann Antone 13 2. Frances Antone 14 3. Frances Miguel 15 4. **Ambrose J. Encinas** 16 5. **Shirley Molina** 17 6. David Garcia 18 7. Evelyn Juan 19 8. **Gloria Ramirez** 20 Fern Salcido 9. 21 10. Mary Flores 22 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes 23 CHAIRMAN EDWARD D. MANUEL as the Tohono O'odham Nation's voting delegate and Legislative Council Vice Chairman AMBROSE J. ENCINAS as alternate voting 24 delegate to the 57th Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention. 25 BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes 26 27 payment of NCAI membership dues in the amount of \$1,000 from the Legislative 28 **Branch Dues and Subscriptions line item.**

RESOLUTION NO. 2000-534 (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the 57th Annual National Congress of American Indians Convention) Page 2 of 3 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 08TH. Day 1 2 of <u>NOVEMBER, 2000</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,165.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> 3 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [04] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the 4 5 Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant 6 Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 7 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 8 9 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 10 Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 11 12 13 1- day of November , 20 or 14 15 16 ATTEST: 17 an 18 Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary 19 20 8 day of November , 20 00. 21 22 23 24 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the <u>9</u>^C day of <u>November</u>, 20 or at <u>7:18</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M., 25 pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective 26 27 upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 28 submittal. 29 30 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 31 32 Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 33 34 35 36 37 on the 9th day of November, 2000 N APPROVED 38 39 at <u>7:28</u> o'clock, <u>P</u>.M. [] DISAPPROVED 40 41 Min Done 42 43 EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman 44 45 **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 46

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>2000-534</u>
	(Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the 57 th Annual National Congress of American
	Indians Convention)
	Page 3 of 3
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>9</u> day of
2 3	Novent_, 20 00, at 7:49 o'clock, P.M.
4	
5	
6	Var far
7	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
8	
9	
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19 20	
20	
21 22	
22 23	
23 24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42 42	
43 44	
44 45	
	1

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE 57TH ANNUAL NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS CONVENTION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN ALBERT MANUEL, JR.

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: NOVEMBER 08, 2000

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	х			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	х			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	186.35	х			
J 44 + 1	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35	X			
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES	66.7	х			
155.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	x			х
165.9	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	x			
286.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	X			x
GU ACHI 209.6	1. CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	х			
207.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ** ()	104.8	Х			
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	X			
130.0	2. JOHNSON JOSE ()	78.4	Х			
SAN LUCY 128.1	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	х	1		
120.1	2. GLORIA RÁMIREZ	64.05	х			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	X			
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	х			х
HICKIWAN 158.1	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	79.05	х			X
158.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	х			
CHUKUT KUK 222.6	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	х			
222.0	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	X			
T	2,165.5	2,165.5	-0-	-0-	[04]	