RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Malita Liston to the Election Board)

RESOLUTION NO. 01-053

WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to appoint members				
	of the Tohono O'odham Election Board pursuant to Section 1(B) of Article II of				
	Ordinance No. 03-86, the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance"), which				
	states, "Members of the Election Board shall be appointed by the Tohono O'odham				
	Council for terms of five years, or until their successors are appointed and qualified";				
	and				
WHEREAS,	the Election Ordinance further requires "that appointments to the board shall be				
	made in such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the				
	term of office of only one member will end in any single year."; and				
WHEREAS,	effective July 31, 1999, Election Board Member Felix Martin's term did expire and he				
	continues to serve as a Board member until his successor is appointed; and				
WHEREAS,	in compliance with the Election Ordinance, the Legislative Council has the duty to				
	appoint a successor who will complete the five year term that is currently held by				
	Martin Felix and which will expire July 31, 2004; and				
WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee, having legislative oversight over the Election Board, has				
	reviewed the Election Board's recommendations concerning this appointment and				
	has, furthermore, interviewed qualified bilingual members of the Nation to fill this				
	seat on the Election Board; and				
WHEREAS,	the Rules Committee has reported its findings concerning this appointment to the				
	Legislative Council and has recommended that Malita Liston be appointed to the				
	Election Board to complete the five year term ending July 31, 2004.				
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby					
	appoints Malita Liston as a member of the Election Board to complete the five (5) year				
	term ending July 31, 2004.				
of <u>FEBRUAL</u> AGAINST; <u>-</u> Section <u>1(g)</u> Nation, ado Deputy Assi	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>05TH.</u> Day <u>RY, 2001</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,165.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0-0</u>				
	WHEREAS, WHEREAS, WHEREAS, WHEREAS, WHEREAS, NOW, THEF The foregoi of FEBRUAI AGAINST; -(Section 1(g) Nation, ado Deputy Assi				

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>01-053</u> (Appointing Malita Liston to the Ele Page 2 of 2	ing Malita Liston to the Election Board)					
1 2 3		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
4		Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman					
5 6		8th day of Februar , 20 01					
7		day of					
8	ATTEST:						
9	^						
10	Suhn faint'						
11	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legisla	tive Secretary					
12	05 day of Tebruay	an 61					
13	day of	_, 20 <u></u>					
14 15	Said Resolution was submitted fo	or approval to the office of the Chairman of the Toho	na A'Adham				
16		Tehrung, 20 01 at 4:06 o'cloc					
17	pursuant to the provisions of Sect	tion 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will beco	me effective				
18		failure to either approve or disapprove it within					
19	submittal.						
20							
21		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIYE COUNCIL					
22							
23		De la Constantina Chairman					
24 25		Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman					
26							
27							
28							
29	[] APPROVED	on the, 20					
30							
31	[] DISAPPROVED	at o'clock,M.					
32		minere 40 HOURS					
33		EXCEEDED 48 HOURS					
34 35		EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman					
36		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION					
37							
38							
39							
40		12Th					
41	Returned to the Legislative Secre						
42	Folyman 201	at 10:06 alabasts 4 M					
43	10 20 01	at o clock, _/\wi.					
44 45	February, 2001. Neme M. Sym &	or					
46	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legisla	ative Secretary					

ACTION: APPOINTING MALITA LISTON TO THE ELECTION BOARD

MOVED: COUNCILMAN CAMILLUS LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FERN SALCIDO

DATE:

FEBRUARY 06, 2001

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	X			
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	x			X
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	186.35	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35	х			
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES **	66.7	X			
	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7	х			
SAN XAVIER 165.9	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	x			X
105.9	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	82.95	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	X			
286.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	X			
GU ACHI 209.6	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	X			
207.0	2. ALEX J. RAMON ()	104.8	x	_		х
PISINEMO 156.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	х			X
130.6	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4	Х			
SAN LUCY	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	х			
128.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	64.05	X			Х
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	X			
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	X			
HICKIWAN 158.1	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	79.05	X			
	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	X			
CHUKUT KUK 222.6	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	X			
222.0	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	x			
TOTAL		2,165.5	2,165.5	-0-	-0-	[05]

^{**}PASSED VOTES