RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Charter Membership in the National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA))

RESOLUTION NO. 01-064

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council delegated the Legislative Commerce
2	Committee as the oversight on Indian Gaming; and
3	WHEREAS, the Commerce Committee has actively participated in the National Indian Gaming
4	Association (NIGA) meetings; and
5	WHEREAS, the primary objective and purpose of NIGA is to promote, protect and preserve Indian
6	Gaming enterprises on Indian Country; and
7	WHEREAS, the Commerce Committee recommends that the Tohono O'odham Nation renew its
8	membership as a chartered member of NIGA; and
9	WHEREAS, the committee further recommends that the Chairman of the Commerce Committee
10	be appointed as the official representative to the NIGA Board of Directors.
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
12	authorizes payment of dues for NIGA membership in the amount of \$25,000.00.
13	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints the
14	Chairman of the Commerce Committee as the Nation's official Representative to the
15	National Indian Gaming Association Board of Directors.
16	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the membership fee of \$25,000.00 to National Indian Gaming
17	Association shall be an operating cost of Desert Diamond Casino and the Nation shall
18	bill Desert Diamond Casino for the annual membership fee to NIGA.
19 20 21	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>08TH.</u> Day of <u>FEBRUARY, 2001</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,581.0</u> FOR; <u>584.5</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[01]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
,	Section 1 (b) & (d)(2) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by
23 24	the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
25	18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
26	
27	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
28	
29	
30	The state of the s
31	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
32	13 day of 2ehm, 200/
33	13 day of 16hm, 200/

34

	ATTEST:
- 11 /	Denne M Simple Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
j	ulianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
-	08th day of Jebruary, 2001.
5	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odhai
1	Nation on the 13 day of Helm , 20 0/ at 11:38 o'clock, A.M.
11	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effectiv upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o
S	submittal.
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	TOHONO O ODIEMI ELGISEATIVE COUNCIE
	for
	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
	—
i	APPROVED on the Handay of February, 20 0/
ŧ	MIROVED ON THE TELEVISION OF T
ı	On the Hand of February, 200/ at U'360'clock, H.M.
	<i>t</i>
	MANAGE Chairman
	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
	TOHOMO O ODILANI MITOM
	1/17)
	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{14/h}{1}$ day of
	7. ebrugge 20 01 - 1:26 - 1-1-1- 0 20
-	, 20 o , at o clock,m.
	Jebnay, 20 01, at 1:26 o'clock, p.M. Dennem. Gor
	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: CHARTER MEMBERSHIP IN THE NATIONAL INDIAN GAMING ASSOCIATION (NIGA)

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

DATE: FEBRUARY 08, 2001

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 171.8	1. MARY ANN ANTONE (Darlene Andrew)	85.9	х		-	
	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	85.9	Х			
SELLS 372.7	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	186.35		X		
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	186.35		х		
SCHUK TOAK 133.4	1. MARY FLORES **	66.7		X		
133.4	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS	66.7		x		
SAN XAVIER	1. TONY BURRELL	82.95	x			
165.9	2. DENNIS RAMON	82.95	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	143.25	X			
286.5	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Edward N. Kisto)	143.25	X			
GU ACHI	CAMILLUS LOPEZ (Louis Johnson)	104.8	x			
209.6	2. ALEX J. RAMON **	104.8	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	78.4	X			
156.8	2. JOHNSON JOSE	78.4		X		
SAN LUCY	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR.	64.05	x			
128.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	64.05	x			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	80.0	X			
160.0	2. GLORIA MONTANA (Phillip Antone)	80.0	х			
HICKIWAN	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	79.05	x			
158.1	2. LLOYD FRANCISCO (Susan Sam)	79.05	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	111.3	X			X
222.6	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	111.3	X			
T	OTAL	2,165.5	1,581.0	584.5	-0-	[01]

^{**}PASSED VOTES