RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Acknowledging Results of May 4, 2002 Special Recall Election of Hickiwan District Council, Schuschukigk Community Alternate Lenora Montana)

RESOLUTION NO. 02-215

1	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Resolution No. 02-164, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council set May				
2		4, 2002 as the date for holding the special recall election for Hickiwan District				
3		Council, Schuschukigk Community Alternate Lenora Montana; and				
4	WHEREAS,	the special recall election was conducted by the Election Board on May 4, 2002; and				
5	WHEREAS,	the Election Board has certified (1) that more than thirty percent (30%) of the eligible				
6		voters registered to vote for such office voted in the recall election, and (2) that the				
7		incumbent received seven (7) of the twenty-seven (27) votes cast; and				
8	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Article X, Section 16(A) and (C) of the Uniform Election Ordinance, an				
9		incumbent who receives less than a majority of the votes cast in a special recall				
10		election "shall continue to perform the duties of [her] office until the Certificate of				
11		Election Results has been officially posted and [her] successor has been certified and				
12		seated."				
13	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council					
14		that it hereby accepts the Election Board's Certificate of Election Results in the				
15		special recall election regarding Petitions #REC-H-02-02, and acknowledges that				
16		Petition #REC-H-02-02 has passed.				
17	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that, as the incumbent					
18		Hickiwan District Council, Schuschukigk Community Alternate Lenora Montana,				
19		received less than a majority of the votes cast in the Special Recall Election, she				
20		"shall continue to perform the duties of [her] office until the Certificate of Election				
21		Results has been officially posted and [her] successor has been certified and seated"				
22		(Article X, Section 16(C) of the Uniform Election Ordinance).				
23 24 25 26 27	of <u>MAY, 200</u> 144.5 NOT V of Article VI Nation on Ja	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 10 TH . Day 2 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,273.0 FOR; -0- AGAINST; OTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (g) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham anuary 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs				
28	(Operation	s) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 98				

29

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>02-215</u> (Acknowledging Results of May Schuschukigk Community Alterna Page 2 of 2	4, 2002 Special Recall Election of Hickiwan District Council, ate Lenora Montana)								
1		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
2		XL 1 TT								
3		() len Ch Many								
4		Rita A. Martinez, Legislative Chairwoman								
5		1.11/2.								
6		14 day of may, 20 08								
7		()								
8	ATTEST:	C								
9										
10	Muly									
11	Julianna Sarafició, Acting Legisl	ative Secretary								
12	10 201	n2								
13	10 day of May									
14	/									
15	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham									
16) 20 02 at 2:47 o'clock, 0.M.,								
17		ction 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective								
18		failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of								
19	submittal.									
20		TOHONO OLODIIAM I POICI ATIVE COUNCII								
21		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
22 23		1) Tele Che Dra-la								
24		Rita A. Martinez, Legislative Chairwoman								
25		Meta A. Marcinez, Registative Chairwollian								
26										
27										
28	1-A APPROVED	on the <u>15</u> day of <u>May</u> , 20 <u>02</u>								
29	V F									
30	[] DISAPPROVED	at <u>//37</u> o'clock, <u>/</u> .M.								
31	. ,									
32		θ								
33		Herry a. Rumon'								
34		EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman								
35		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
36										
37										
38										
39	Returned to the Legislative Secr	etary on the <u>/5</u> day of								
40	Min	2.08								
41	1 10 acj , 20 02	, at <u>3:08</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M.								
42	, i									
43										
44	- July									
45	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legis	lative Secretary								

RESOLUTION NO. 02-215

ACTION: ACKNOWLEDGING RESULTS OF MAY 4, 2002 SPECIAL RECALL ELECTION OF HICKIWAN DISTRICT

COUNCIL, SCHUSCHUKIGK COMMUNITY ALTERNATE LENORA MONTANA

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN SHIRLEY MOLINA SECOND: COUNCILMAN DAVID GARCIA

DATE: MAY 10, 2002

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 317.7	FRANCES MIGUEL ()	158.85	Х			х
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela)	158.85	X			
CHUKUT KUK 248.1	KENNETH WILLIAMS (Juanita Homer)	124.05	X			
	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	124.05	X			
GU ACHI 230.7	1. CAMILLUS LOPEZ	115.35	X			
	2. ALEX J. RAMON** (Jerome Joaquin)	115.35	X			
GU VO 188.3	1. FERN SALCIDO	94.15	X			X
	2. EMILIO LEWIS (Michael Flores)	94.15	X			
HICKIWAN 167.3	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	83.65	X			
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.65	х			_
PISINEMO 174.7	1. BARBARA SALVICIO** (Alex Antone)	87.35	X			
	2. PATRICIA CRUZ (Johnson Jose)	87.35	х			
SAN LUCY 160.7	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (John W. Lawson, Sr.)	80.35	X			
	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ**	80.35	х			
SAN XAVIER 184.7	1. CRESCENCIO "TONY" ENCINAS**	92.35	Х			
	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	92.35	х			
SCHUK TOAK 144.5	1. MARY FLORES**	72.25			х	
	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS (Frances B. Conde(Francisco))	72.25			х	
SELLS 416.1	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	208.05	X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	208.05	Х			
SIF OIDAK	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ	92.35	Х			
184.7	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	92.35	X	-		
•	ΓΟΤΑL	2,417.5	2,273.0	-0-	144.5	[02]