RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts)

RESOLUTION NO. 02-225

1	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is empowered by Article VIII, Section 4 of the Constitution				
2		of the Tohono O'odham Nation to appoint judges of the Tohono O'odham Courts; and				
3	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council did by Ordinance No. 01-89, Chapter II, authorize the				
4		appointment of judges pro tempore to the Tohono O'odham Courts upon the				
5		recommendation of the Chief Judge; and				
6	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of attorneys qualified pursuant to 2-103 of				
7		Ordinance No. 01-89 and recommended their appointment as judges pro tempore of				
8		the Tohono O'odham Judicial Courts; and				
9	WHEREAS,	Ordinance 01-89, Chapter II allows the appointment judges protempore for terms no				
10		greater than six years; and				
11	WHEREAS,	the Chief Judge has submitted the names of five attorneys qualified to fill the current				
12		expired terms of judges pro tempore; and				
13	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee has met with the Chief Judge and discussed the				
14		qualifications of the individuals who are being recommended for appointment as				
15		judges pro tempore; and				
16	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee has determined that the persons recommended are of good				
17		moral character, residents of the State of Arizona for not less than five years, and are				
18		admitted to the practice of law for not less than three years; and				
19	WHEREAS,	the Judiciary Committee does concur with the recommendations of the Chief Judge				
20		and recommends to the full Legislative Council five appointments of judges pro				
21		tempore for the Judicial Court of this Nation.				
22	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it					
23		${\bf doesaccepttherecommendationoftheChiefJudgeand,inaccordancewithJudicial}$				
24		Branch Rules and Procedures formally adopted pursuant to Ordinance 01-89,				
25		Chapter II, hereby appoints the following named persons with the respective terms				
26		as judges pro tempore of the Tohono O'odham Judicial Court:				
	lt .	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				

	(Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts) Page 2 of 3
1	Seymour A. Kolman, beginning May 1, 2002 and ending April 30, 2003
2	Janice A. Wezelman, beginning May 1, 2002 and ending April 30, 2005
3	Rachel Frazier Strachan, beginning May 1, 2002 and ending April 30, 2005
4	Robert Alan Hershey, beginning May 1, 2002 and ending April 30, 2007
5	Robert A. Williams, Jr., beginning May 1, 2002 and ending April 30, 2007
6	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the appointments of the above-named persons shall become
7	effective on the 1st day of May, 2002.
8 9 10 11 12 13 14	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 10 TH . Day of MAY, 2002 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,293.45 FOR; 124.05 AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 4 of Article VIII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
15 16	TQHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
17	
18	0 + 0 = 17
19	Jan Je Man
20	Ŕita A. Martinez, Legislative Chairwoman
21 22	15 th May , 20 02
23	
24	ATTEST:
25	
26	Sign of 1
27	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
28 29	Junanna Sarancio, Acting Legislative Secretary
30	10 day of May , 20 02.
31	
	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham
33	Nation on the 154 day of May, 20 02 at 3:54 o'clock, P.M.
34	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
35	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
36	submittal.
37	
38	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
39 40	X L a \ \frac{1}{2}
41	() Tun () mander
42	Rita A. Martinez, Legislative Chairwoman
,	·

RESOLUTION NO. <u>02-225</u> (Appointing Judges Pro Tempore of the Tohono O'odham Courts) Page 3 of 3								
⋈ APPROVED	on the 15 day of May	,20_ <i>OL</i> _						
[] DISAPPROVED	at 4.27 o'clock, P.M.							
	Henry G. Kamen EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman							
	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman							
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
Returned to the Legislative Se	cretary on the <u>/5</u> day of							
W1	~ ×							
11/14y , 20 02	, at o'clock,M.							
	_							
Sun hy								
Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legi	islative Secretary							

ACTION: APPOINTING JUDGES PRO TEMPORE OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM COURTS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN SECOND: COUNCILMAN AMBROSE ENCINAS

DATE: MAY 10, 2002

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 317.7	FRANCES MIGUEL ()	158.85	х			Х
317.7	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela)	158.85	х			
CHUKUT KUK 248.1	KENNETH WILLIAMS (Juanita Homer) DAVID GARCIA	124.05 124.05	х	x		
CHACHI	(Mary Audrey Juan) 1. CAMILLUS LOPEZ	115.35	X	A		
GU ACHI 230.7	() 2. ALEX J. RAMON (Jerome Joaquin)	115.35	x			
GU VO	1. FERN SALCIDO	94.15	х			Х
188.3	2. EMILIO LEWIS (Michael Flores)	94.15	x			
HICKIWAN 167.3	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	83.65	X			
10/.5	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.65	X			
PISINEMO 174,7	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	87.35	x			
1/4./	2. PATRICIA CRUZ (Johnson Jose)	87.35	X			
SAN LUCY	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (John W. Lawson, Sr.)	80.35	X			
160.7	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	80.35	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. CRESCENCIO "TONY" ENCINAS	92.35	x			
184.7	2. DENNIS RAMON	92.35	x			
SCHUK TOAK 144.5	1. MARY FLORES	72.25	x			
144.5	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS (Frances B. Conde(Francisco))	72.25	x			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	208.05	X			
416.1	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	208.05	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ	92.35	X			
184.7	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	92.35	x			
	TOTAL	2,417.5	2,293.45	124.05	-0-	[02]

^{**}PASSED VOTES