## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointing Nation's Intertribal Monitoring Association on Indian Trust Funds Representative and Alternate)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>02-490</u>

	WHEREAS,	the Tollono o dulam Nation is a charter member of the Intertribal Monitoring
2		Association on Indian Trust Funds ("ITMA"); and
3	WHEREAS,	$the ITMA is \ dedicated \ to \ monitoring, reviewing, and \ analyzing \ all \ measures \ of \ Indian$
4		trust fund and asset related activities of the federal government and has acted as
5		clearinghouse for the Department of the Interior's recent attempts to reorganize its
6		trust assets management without tribal consultation or input; and
7	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is vested with the power "[t]o consult on behalf of the
8		To hono O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments and other Indian
9		$tribes \dots or \ with \ private \ persons \ or \ or \ ganizations \ on \ all \ matters \ within \ the \ authority$
10		of the Tohono O'odham Council" (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article
11		VI, Section 1(f)); and
12	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham that the Nation continue its
13		participation in the ITMA and its consultations with ITMA member tribes in order to
14		hold the federal government accountable for its many decades of Indian trust asset
15		mismanagement; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Budget and Finance Committee, which has been delegated authority to
17		recommend legislative measures concerning the use of funds held in trust by the
18		federal government, has recommended the appointment of Councilperson Evelyn
19		Juan Manuel as the Nation's ITMA representative (Plan of Operation for Budget &
20		Finance Committee, Article I(b)(3) (1988)); and
21	WHEREAS,	the Budget and Finance Committee has further recommended the appointment of
22		Councilwoman Gloria Ramirez as the Nation's ITMA alternate.
23	NOW, THE	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
24		appoints Councilwoman Evelyn Juan Manuel as the Nation's Intertribal Monitoring
25		Association on Indian Trust Funds representative.
26	BE IT FUI	RTHER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints
27		Council wo man Gloria Ramirez as the Nation's Intertribal Monitoring Association on the Scholar Council Co
28		Indian Trust Funds alternate.
29	BE IT FUI	RTHER RESOLVED that these appointments shall supercede any prior ITMA
30		representative and alternate appointments.

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>02-490</u>							
	(Appointing Nation's Intertribal Monitoring Association on Indian Trust Funds Representative and Alternate)							
	Page 2 of 3							
ľ								
1	BEIT FINALLY RESOLVED that an appointment made pursuant to this resolution shall expire if the							
2	appointee vacates his or her elected office for any reason.							
3	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $11^{TH}$ . Day							
4	of OCTOBER, 2002 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,323.35.FOR; -0-							
5 6	AGAINST; <u>94.15</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[05]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section1 (1) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono							
7	O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -							
	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48							
	Stat. 984).							
10 11	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
12	CONORD O ODIAMI EEGISLATIVE COCKCIE							
13	0 + 0 + 0							
14	Um le marl							
15	Rita A. Martinez, Legislative Chairwoman  15 hay of Otyler, 20 02							
16	with Orthon							
17	15 day of Chiller, 20 08							
18								
19	ATTEST:							
20								
21 22	Miller Serve In							
23	Julianna Saraficio Acting Legislative Secretary							
24								
25	11th day of Ollebry , 20 02.							
26								
27	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the							
28	Nation on the 1546 day of October , 20 02 at 445 o'clock, P.M.,							
29	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
30	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of							
31	submittal.							
32 33	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
	10HONG G OBILINI LEGISMITT E GOONGIE							
34	XL n -7							
35	()/1 (/2 m 4 / _							
36	Jun 11 Jun 17							
37	Rita A. Martinez, Legislative Chairwoman							
38								
39								
40								
41	MAPPROVED on the 16 day of October, 2002							
42								
43	[ ] DISAPPROVED at <u>9.37</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.							
44	1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2							
45								
46 47	Henry a. Lamon							
48	EDWARD D. MANUEL, Chairman							
40	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>02-490</u> (Appointing Nation's Intertribal Monitoring Association on Indian Trust Funds Representative and Alternate) Page 3 of 3
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on theday of
2	
3	Ollow, 20 02, at 11. 270'clock, 4.M.
<b>4 5</b>	
6	Solling -
7	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
8	
9	
10	
11	
12 13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19 20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27 28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35 36	
3 <b>7</b>	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	
43 44	
7.7	

ACTION: APPOINTING NATION'S INTERTRIBAL MONITORING ASSOCIATION ON INDIAN TRUST FUNDS

REPRESENTATIVE AND ALTERNATE

MOVED: COUNCILMAN AMBROSE ENCINAS SECOND: COUNCILMAN DENNIS JOSE

**DATE:** OCTOBER 11, 2002

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 317.7	1. FRANCES MIGUEL ( )	158.85	X			Х
31/./	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela)	158.85	X			
CHUKUT KUK 248.1	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Juanita Homer)	124.05	x			x
	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	124.05	X			
GU ACHI 230.7	CAMILLUS LOPEZ     (     )	115.35	x			
230.7	2. JEROME JOAQUIN** ( )	115.35	X			
GU VO 188.3	1. FERN SALCIDO ( )	94.15			X	
	2. EMILIO LEWIS (Michael Flores)	94.15	X			
HICKIWAN 167.3	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA ( )	83.65	x			
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.65	x			
PISINEMO 174.7	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	87.35	x			х
	2. PATRICIA CRUZ (Johnson Jose)	87.35	x	_		
SAN LUCY 160.7	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (John W. Lawson, Sr.)	80.35	X			
	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ** ( )	80.35	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	92.35	x			
184.7	2. DENNIS RAMON ( )	92.35	x			x
SCHUK TOAK	1. MARY FLORES	72.25	Х			X
144.5	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS (Frances B. Conde(Francisco))	72.25	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	208.05	x			
416.1	2. EVELYN JUAN**	208.05	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ	92.35	x			1
184.7	2. RITA MARTINEZ (Nicholas Jose)	92.35	х	_		
	TOTAL	2,417.5	2,323.35	-0-	94.15	[05]