RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Issuance of Certificates of Election from the May 24, 2003 General Election, for the Offices of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation and Representatives to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating such Elected Officials)

RESOLUTION NO. 03-236

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation did on Saturday, May 24, 2003 conduct a general
2		election for the offices of Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Tohono O'odham
3		${\bf Nation, as well \ as \ Representatives \ to \ the \ Tohono \ O'odham \ Legislative \ Council; and }$
4	WHEREAS,	on May 25, 2003 the Election Board did issue and post its attached Certification of
5		$\textbf{Election Results in accordance with Section 6(K)} \ of Article \ VII \ of the \ Uniform \ \textbf{Election}$
6		Ordinance and is incorporated herein by this reference; and
7	WHEREAS,	Section 6(N) of Article VII of the Uniform Election Ordinance, requires that the
8		Legislative Council issue Certificates of Election to the candidates who receive the
9		highest number of votes for Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Nation and for each
10		Council seat within twenty days after the Election Board has posted its Certificates
11		of Election results, provided however, that no election contest statement has been
12		filed within the time allowed and provided further that they hold no other elective
13		office of the Nation and in the case of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Nation
14		such persons hold no other elective offices in the Nation and are not employees of
15		the Nation.
16	NOW, THER	EFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Chairman and Secretary of the Tohono O'odham
17		Legislative Council are hereby authorized and directed on behalf of the Council to
18		execute and deliver a Certificate of Election seating the following persons elected
19		either at large as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation, or
20		from their respective Districts as Representatives and Alternates to the Tohono
21		O'odham Legislative Council, who shall hold their offices for a term of four (4) years
22		or until their successors have been elected, certified and seated, namely:
23		
24		Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation
25		Vivian Juan-Saunders
26		Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation
27		Ned Norris, Jr.
28		Baboquivari District
29		Representative: Frances Miguel
30		Alternate: Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-236</u>

(Issuance of Certificates of Election from the May 24, 2003 General Election, for the Offices of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation and Representatives to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating such Elected Officials)
Page 2 of 4

1	<u>Chukut Kuk</u>
2	Representative: Verlon M. Jose
3	Alternate: David Garcia
4	Gu Achi District
5	Representative: Timothy L. Joaquin
6	Alternate: Jonas Robles
7	Gu Vo District
8	Representative: Raymond Victor
9	Alternate: Vacant
10	<u>Hickiwan District</u>
11	Representative: Delma Garcia
12	Alternate: Mary E. Sam
13	<u>Pisinemo District</u>
14	Representative: Barbara Salvicio
15	Alternate: Vacant
16	San Lucy District
17	Representative: Gloria Ramirez
18	Alternate: Vacant
19	San Xavier District
20	Representative: Felicia Nunez
21	Alternate: Vacant
22	Schuk Toak District
23	Representative: Frances B. Conde
24	Alternate: Vacant
25	<u>Sells District</u>
26	Representative: Dennis Jose
27	Alternate: Vacant
28	<u>Sif Oidak District</u>
29	Representative: Darlene Andrew
30	Alternate: Rita Martinez
31	

RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-236</u> (Issuance of Certificates of Election from and Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'o Legislative Council and Seating such Ele Page 3 of 4	the May 24, 2003 General Election, for the Offices of Chairman dham Nation and Representatives to the Tohono O'odham ected Officials)
of <u>IUNE, 2003</u> at a meeting at which a q <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[-0-]</u> ABSENT, pur Article V1 and Section X of the Constitu O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986;	by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>02ND.</u> Day uorum was present with a vote of <u>2,417.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; suant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(g) of tion of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -5, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48)
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	De- 12-
	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
	3 rd day of June , 20 03
A RUMENT CITY.	•
ATTEST:	
Jun m	
Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative	Secretary
ay of June, 20	<u>03</u> ,
Said Posalution was submitted for any	proval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham
Nation on the 3th day of	ine , 20 03 at 1:03 o'clock, P.M.
pursuant to the provisions of Section 5	of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
·	re to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
submittal.	
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
	Name Kann
	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
ADDROVED.	on the 3 day of $0\mu = .2003$

on the 3 day of June, 2003

[] DISAPPROVED

at 1:35 o'clock, p.M.

VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-236</u> (Issuance of Certificates of Election from the May 24, 2003 General Election, for the Offices of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation and Representatives to the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council and Seating such Elected Officials) Page 4 of 4
1 2	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>3</u> day of
3	xeme_, 20_03_, at 1:40 o'clock,M.
4	
5 6	(un h
7	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary
8	
9	
10 11	
12	
13 14	
15	
16	
17 18	
19	
20	
21	
22 23	
24	
25	
26 27	
28	
29	
30 31	
32	
33	
34 35	
36	
37	
38 39	
40	
41	
42 43	

ACTION: ISSUANCE OF CERTIFICATES OF ELECTION FROM THE MAY 24, 2003 GENERAL ELECTION, FOR THE OFFICES OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION AND REPRESENTATIVES TO THE TOHONO

O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL AND SEATING SUCH ELECTED OFFICIALS

MOVED: COUNCILMAN ISIDRO LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILMAN ALBERT MANUEL, JR.

DATE:

JUNE 02, 2003

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 317.7	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	158.85	х			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela)	158.85	Х			
CHUKUT KUK 248.1	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS (Juanita Homer)	124.05	х			
	2. DAVID GARCIA (Mary Audrey Juan)	124.05	X			
GU ACHI 230.7	1. CAMILLUS LOPEZ ()	115.35	х			
2000	2. JEROME JOAQUIN ()	115.35	X			
GU VO 188.3	1. FERN SALCIDO	94.15	х			
100.3	2. EMILIO LEWIS (Michael Flores)	94.15	X			
HICKIWAN 167.3	1. SHIRLEY MOLINA	83.65	х			
	2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.65	Х			
PISINEMO 174.7	1. BARBARA SALVICIO (Alex Antone)	87.35	x			{
	2. PATRICIA ĆRUZ (Johnson Jose)	87.35	х			
SAN LUCY 160.7	1. ALBERT MANUEL, JR. (John W. Lawson, Sr.)	80.35	х			
	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ (80.35	Х			
SAN XAVIER 184.7	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	92.35	х			
104./	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	92.35	х			
SCHUK TOAK 144.5	1. MARY FLORES	72.25	x			
144.5	2. AMBROSE ENCINAS (Frances B. Conde(Francisco))	72.25	x			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	208.05	X			
416.1	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	208.05	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (Nicholas Jose)	92.35	x			
184.7	2. RITA MARTINEZ	92.35	X			
	TOTAL	2,417.5	2,417.5	-0-	-0-	[-0-]