## LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying Election of Dennis Ramon as Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 03-238

1	WHEREAS,	during the June 2, 2003 General Session, the Legislative Council did conduct an
2		election for the Office of the Legislative Chairperson in accordance with Article XII,
3		Section 2 of the Legislative Rules; and
4	WHEREAS,	each Representative did cast their vote for one of the candidates nominated for said
5		office; Councilman Dennis Ramon received 1,168.45 votes; Councilwoman Evelyn
6		Juan received 1,170.15 votes and Councilwoman Delma Garcia received 291.1 votes;
7		and
8	WHEREAS,	none of the candidates received the majority votes required to be deemed elected
9		as Chairperson, thereby resulting in a run off between the top two candidates,
10		namely, Councilman Dennis Ramon and Councilwoman Evelyn Juan; and
11	WHEREAS,	in the run off election, Councilman Dennis received 1,584.65 votes and
12		Councilwoman Evelyn Juan received 1,045.05 votes; and
13	WHEREAS,	Councilman Dennis Ramon having received a majority of the votes cast was declared
14		as the Legislative Chairman Elect.
15	NOW, THER	REFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it does
16		hereby certify the election of Dennis Ramon as Chairman of the Tohono O'odham
17		Legislative Council.
18	The foregoi	ng Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $02^{ND}$ . Day of
19		at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,629.7</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST;
20		TING; and [-0-] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b)
21	5	of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham
22		nuary 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs
23	(Operation	s) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
24		MONONO CIODWANT VECTOR A MINUTE CONTINUES
25		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
26		Allen A. Danie
27		Was the second of the second
28		Delma Garcia, Vice Chairwoman
29		
30	ATTEST:	
31	111	
32	- sic	
22	Almliadus Co	raficio Acting Legiclative Secretary

ACTION: CERTIFYING ELECTION OF DENNIS RAMON AS CHAIRMAN OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE

COUNCIL

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: JUNE 02, 2003

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (Nicholas Jose)	96.30	x			-
192.6	2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	96.30	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	232.80	x			
465.6	2. EVELYN JUAN	232.80	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05	X			
176.1	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	88.05	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	107.70	X			
215.4	2. DENNIS RAMON ** ()	107.70	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	X			
166.3	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	83.15	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70	X			
175.4	2. PATRICIA CRUZ	87.70	X			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	85.15	x			
170.3	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	85.15	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	x			
191.4	2. MICHAEL FLORES ( )	95.70	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	126.80	X			
253.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. JEROME JOAQUIN	126.80	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45	x			
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45	X			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	182.05	x			
364.1	( Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela )  2. FRANCES G. ANTONE  ( )	182.05	X			
	2,629.7	2,629.7	-0-	-0-	-0-	