RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2003 Mid-Year Session)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-290</u>

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to consult with
2		other Indian tribes on all matters within the Council's authority (Constitution of the
3		Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
4	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its 2003 Mid-Year Session
5		on the Gila River Indian Reservation, Phoenix, Az on June 15-18, 2003; and
6	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation is a member in good standing with NCAI; and
7	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its National-level
8		involvement in current issues by participating in the NCAI 2003 Mid-Year Session.
9	NOW. THEF	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
10	,	authorizes the following representatives to attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham
11		Nation's delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 2003 Mid-Year
12		Session:
13		1. Councilwoman Frances Antone
14		2. Councilwoman Frances Conde
15		3. Vice Chairwoman Delma Garcia
16		4. Councilman Timothy Joaquin
17		5. Councilman Dennis Jose
18		6. Councilman Verlon Jose
19		7. Councilwoman Evelyn Juan-Manuel
20		8. Councilwoman Phyllis Juan
21		9. Councilman John Lawson Sr.
22		10. Councilman Isidro Lopez
23		11. Councilwoman Frances Miguel
24		12. Councilwoman Felicia Nunez
25		13. Chairman Dennis Ramon
26	BE IT FINAL	LY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby delegates authority
27		to Chairwoman Vivian Juan-Saunders to act as the Tohono O'odham Nation's voting
28		delegate and Vice Chairman Ned Norris Jr. to act as the Nation's alternate voting
29		delegate to the National Congress of American Indians' 2003 Mid-Year Session.
30		

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-290</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation De Mid-Year Session) Page 2 of 3	legation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2003
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	of <u>JUNE, 2003</u> at a meeting at which a qu <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[-0-]</u> ABSENT, purs Article VI of the Constitution of the To Nation on January 18, 1986; and approve	y the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>05TH.</u> Day forum was present with a vote of <u>2,629.7</u> FOR; <u>-0-AGAINST</u> ; suant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(<u>f</u>) of hono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham ed by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs ant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
8		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
9		
10 11		Deunis Ramon, Chairman th day of
12	far	Dennis Ramon, Chairman
13	\mathcal{O}_{\cdot}	th
14		9 day of 6/une, 2003
15		
16	ATTEST:	
17		
18 19	(sun un	
20	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative S	ecretary
21		
22	05 day of 4 , 20_	<u>03</u> .
23		
24	Said Resolution was submitted for app	roval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham
25	Nation on the 972 day of 6	une, 20 <u>03</u> at <u>9:30</u> o'clock, A.M.,
26	<u> </u>	of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
27		e to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
28	submittal.	
29 30		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
30 31		1 OHORO O ODIANI LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
31 32		10/126
33		/ Velua In Caur
34	fo	Dennis Ramon, Chairman
35	V	·
36		
37		
38	k /	goth Chinas
39	[X] APPROVED 0	n the day of
40	I I DICADDROVED -	t <u>3:17</u> o'clock, pM.
41 42	[] DISAPPROVED a	- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
42 43		
44		" MMMYNWSamuer
45	v	IVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
16	ll gr	OHONO O'ODHAM NATION

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-290</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 200 Mid-Year Session) Page 3 of 3							
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>9</u> day of							
2	okne, 20 03, at 4:00 o'clock, A.M.							
3 (, 20 0 , at o'clock, _/m.							
5								
6	Junh							
7	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislative Secretary							
8								
9								
10 11								
12								
13								
14								
15								
16								
17								
18								
19 20								
20 21								
22								
23								
24								
25								
26								
27								
28								
29 20								
30 31								
32								
33								
34								
35								
36								
37								
38								
39 40								
40 41								
42								
43								
44								

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN

INDIANS' 2003 MID-YEAR SESSION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN ISIDRO LOPEZ SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN

DATE: JUNE 05, 2003

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (Nicholas Jose)	96.30	X			
172.0	2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	96.30	x			
SELLS 465.6	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	232.80	X			
403.0	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	232.80	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05	X			
176.1	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	88.05	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	107.70	X			
215.4	2. DENNIS RAMON	107.70	x			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	x			
166.3	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ **	83.15	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70	X			
175.4	2. PATRICIA CRUZ	87.70	X			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam)	85.15	x			
170.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	85.15	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	X			
191.4	2. MICHAEL FLORES ()	95.70	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	126.80	х			
253.6	2. JEROME JOAQUIN	126.80	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45	X			
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	182.05	X			
364.1	(Lucilda Norris-Valenzula) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182.05	x			
	TOTAL	2,629.7	2,629.7	-0-	-0-	[-0-]