RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointment of Evan Thomas as TERO Commissioner)

RESOLUTION NO. 03-360

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council pursuant to Section 6 (B)(1) of the TERO					
2	Ordinance No. 01-85 appoint Commissioners for a three year term or until their					
3	successor are appointed and qualified; and					
4	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee is the oversight committee for "all TERO matters"					
5	pursuant to Resolution No. 98-448 authorized by this Council; and					
6	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee conducted a Commissionership search to address the					
7	expired terms by publicly announcing vacancies to all Districts and requested that					
8	nominations be submitted for their consideration; and					
9	WHEREAS, the prior Domestic Affairs Committee did receive nominations to fill vacancies; and					
10	WHEREAS, the prior Domestic Affairs Committee recommends to the Tohono O'odham Legislative					
11	Council that Evan Thomas be appointed as a member to the TERO Commission to					
12	replace the expired term of Neddie Blaine; and					
13	WHEREAS, the current Domestic Affairs Committee agrees to support and move this nomination					
14	forward before the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.					
15	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints					
16	Evan Thomas as TERO Commissioner pursuant to Section 6 (B)(1) & (C) of the TERO					
17	Ordinance No. 01-85, commencing upon the effective date of this resolution and					
18	ending on the last day of June 2005.					
19	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 08^{TH} . Day of AUGUST, 2003 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,629.7 FOR; -0-					
20 21	AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by					
	Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the					
23	Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant					
24	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June					
25	18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).					
26						
27	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
28						
29	$AA//b \leq 1$					
30	- Yelma Mi Cum					
31	Deunis Ramon, Chairman					
32	May of August, 20 03					
33 34	<u>// gay or</u>					
J#	u					

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-360</u> (Appointment of Evan Thomas as TEI Page 2 of 2	tO Commissioner)
1	ATTEST:	
2	,	
3	(yell h	
4	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislati	ve Secretary
5	DER Quest	13
6	08 day of august,	20 <u>~</u> .
7 8	Said Pacalution was submitted for	approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham
9	Nation on the Aday of	<u>Lugust</u> , 20 03 at 10:42 o'clock, A.M.,
10		on 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
11		lure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
12	submittal.	
13		
14		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
15		
16		AAbb.
17	/	/ Selly / Down
18	fo	Dennis Ramon, Chairman
19	\mathcal{C}	
20		
21		/
22	A	on the 13 day of Mount .2003
23	[∕] APPROVED	on the /, 20
24 25	DISAPPROVED	on the 13 day of Ment , 20 03 at 4:30 o'clock, .M.
26		
27		1/44 V. /h
28		// // // // // // // // // // // // //
29	EXCEEDED 48 HOUKS	VIVIAN JUAN SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
30	10 1100110	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
31		
32		
33		
34		12th
35	Returned to the Legislative Secreta	ry on the day of
36	August, 2003, a	451
37		t o clock,m.
38		
39 40	Such	
41	Julianna Saraficio, Acting Legislati	ve Secretary
42		-
43		
44		
45		
46		

ACTION: APPOINTMENT OF EVAN THOMAS AS TERO COMMISSIONER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILMAN ISIDRO LOPEZ

DATE: AUGUST 08, 2003

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (Nicholas Jose) 2. DARLENE ANDREW	96.30 96.30	х			
	(Rita Martinez)	70.50	X			
SELLS 465.6	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	232.80	X			
405.0	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	232.80	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05	х			
176.1	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	88.05	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	107.70	X			
215.4	2. DENNIS RAMON ()	107.70	x			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	х			
166.3	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	83.15	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70	х			
175.4	2. PATRICIA CRUZ	87.70	x			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam)	85.15	X			
170.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	85.15	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	X			
191.4	2. MICHAEL FLORES ()	95.70	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	126.80	Х			
253.6	2. JEROME JOAQUIN	126.80	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45	x			x
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45	x			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	182.05	x			
364.1	(Lucilda Norris-Valenzula) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182. 05	x			
	TOTAL	2,629.7	2,629.7	-0-	-0-	[01]

^{**}PASSED VOTES