RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointing Jerome Joaquin as the Nation's Representative and Frances Conde as Alternate Representative to the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association (SWIAA))

RESOLUTION NO. 03-471

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation currently has within its boundaries farming interest
2		consisting of the Papago, Vaiva Vo, San Lucy and Schuk Toak Farms; and
3	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation has an invested interest in the field of agriculture for its
4		members; and
5	WHEREAS,	membership in the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association (SWIAA) is open to any
6		Indian organization recognized by its Tribal Government and/or federally recognized
7		tribe with an interest in the management and development of Indian Agriculture
8		resources; and
9	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Resolution No. 03-008, the Legislative Council approved the membership
10		and appointed Frances G. Antone as the Nation's Representative and Mary Flores as
11		the Alternate Representative to the SWIAA; and
12	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation held elections in May 2003 and elected new Legislative
13		Committee members in June 2003; and
14	WHEREAS,	Frances G. Antone is no longer a member of the Agriculture Committee and Mary
15		Flores is no longer a member of the Legislative Council; and
16	WHEREAS,	it is necessary to appoint a new representative to represent the Nation on the SWIAA;
17		and
18	WHEREAS,	the Agriculture Committee has discussed and recommends the appointment of
19		Jerome Joaquin as the Nation's Representative and Frances Conde as Alternate
20		Representative to the SWIAA.
21	NOW, THEI	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislative Council hereby appoints Jerome
22		Joaquin as the Nation's Representative and Frances Conde as Alternate
23		Representative to the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association (SWIAA).
24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	of <u>OCTOBE</u> AGAINST; <u>12</u> Section 1 <u>(t</u> Tohono O'C	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>07TH.</u> Day <u>R, 2003</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,502.90</u> FOR; <u>-0-26.8</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[05]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by <u>o</u>) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June Stat. 984).
	il	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>03-471</u> (Appointing Jerome Joaquin as the Nation's Representative and Frances Conde as Alternate Representative to the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association (SWIAA)) Page 2 of 2
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2	1000
3	1 / Suall Durin
4	for Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
5	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman 10th day of
6	<u>// day of</u>
7	
8 9	ATTEST:
10 11	Vinian (Medineta)
12	Vivian Hedrington, Legislative Secretary
13	07 day of October, 2003.
14	07 day of leter .2003.
15	
16	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono
17	O'Odham Nation on the 10th day of October, 2003 at 4:23 o'clock
18	M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
19	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours
20	of submittal.
21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
22	10026
23	1 - falled to Come
24	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
25	
26	
27	12 annound
28	[APPROVED on the 13 day of October , 2003
29 30	20.00
31	[] DISAPPROVED at $\frac{1/\sqrt{3}}{2}$ o'clock, $\frac{1/\sqrt{3}}{2}$.M.
32	
33	Vuyu hun Saunder
34	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
35	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
36	
37	
38	
39	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{13}{100}$ day of
40	1 6)
41	(Vetoler), 2003, at 5:03 o'clock, p.M.
42	
43	(Vivia) (X/1)
44	Iman graing in
45	Vivian Hedrington, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPOINTING JEROME JOAQUIN AS THE NATION'S REPRESENTATIVE AND FRANCES CONDE AS ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVE TO THE SOUTHWEST INDIAN AGRICULTURE ASSOCIATION (SWIAA)

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS JUAN SECOND: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

DATE: **OCTOBER 07, 2003**

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (Nicholas Jose) 2. DARLENE ANDREW	96.30 96.30	x x			
CETTO	(Rita Martinez) 1. DENNIS E. JOSE	232.80	X			X
SELLS 465.6	1. DENNIS E. JOSE () 2. EVELYN JUAN ()	232.80	X			Α
SCHUK TOAK 176.1	1. FRANCES B. CONDE ** () 2. PHYLLIS JUAN ()	88.05 88.05	x x			
SAN XAVIER 215.4	1. FELICIA NUŇEZ () 2. DENNIS RAMON ()	107.70 107.70	x x			
SAN LUCY 166.3	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR. () 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	83.15 83.15	x x			х
PISINEMO 175.4	1. BARBARA SALVICIO () 2. PATRICIA CRUZ ()	87.70 87.70	x x			
HICKIWAN 170.3	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	85.15 85.15	x x			х
GU VO 191.4	RAYMOND VICTOR () MICHAEL FLORES (Willard Manuel)	95.70 95.70	x x			х
GU ACHI 253.6	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles) JEROME JOAQUIN ()	126.80 126.80	Х		x	
CHUKUT KUK 258.9	KENNETH WILLIAMS (Juanita Homer) VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45 129.45	x x			
BABOQUIVARI 364.1	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182.05 182.05	x x			х
	TOTAL	2,629.7	2,502.90	-0-	126.8	[05]