RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 60th Annual Session)

		RESOLUTION NO. 03-531
1	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its 60 th Annual Session in
2		Albuquerque, New Mexico on November 16 - 21, 2003; and
3	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation is a longtime member in good standing with the National
4		Congress of American Indians; and
5	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to renew its membership in the
6		National Congress of American Indians.
7	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
8		authorizes the following members to attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham
9		Nation's Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 60th Annual
10		Session:
11		1. Councilman Jerome Joaquin
12		2. Vice Chairwoman Delma Garcia
13		3. Councilman Verlon Jose
14		4. Councilman Timothy Joaquin
15		5. Councilwoman Felicia Nunez
16		6. Councilwoman Frances Conde
17		7. Councilwoman Evelyn Juan-Manuel
18		8. Councilman Dennis Jose
19		9. Councilman Isidro Lopez
20		10. Councilman John Lawson, Sr.
21	BE IT FURT	HER RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes
22		Chairwoman Vivian Juan-Saunders as the Tohono O'odham Nation's voting delegate
23		and Vice Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. as alternate voting delegate to the National
24		Congress of American Indians 60 th Annual Session.
25	BE IT FINA	LLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes
26		payment of NCAI membership dues for the Tohono O'odham Nation in the amount of
27		\$5,000 from the Legislative Branch dues and subscriptions line item.
28		ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>07TH.</u> Day
29		ER, 2003 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,370.8</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u>
30 31		- NOT VOTING; and <u>258.9 [05]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the
32		Otham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
33		ndian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
34 35	18, 1934 (48	Stat. 984).
33		

RESOLUTION NO. 03-531 (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 60th Annual Session) Page 2 of 2 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** for Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman ATTEST: MULL HAY W Vivian Hedrington, Legislative Secretary 07th day of Norumbon , 2003. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the <u>13Th</u> day of <u>orember</u>, 2003 at <u>9:14</u> o'clock, <u>A</u>.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** for Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman on the 13 day of November , 2003 X APPROVED at <u><u><u>G</u>:40</u> o'clock, <u>A</u>.M.</u> [] DISAPPROVED UAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN OHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 13^{44} day of Nowarbur , 2003, at 9:38 o'clock, A.M. Vivian Hedrington, Legislative Secretary

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS 60TH ANNUAL SESSION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN ISIDRO LOPEZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN

DATE: NOVEMBER 07, 2003

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (Nicholas Jose)	96.30	X			
1/2.0	2. DARLENE ANDREW ** (Rita Martinez)	96.30	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	232.80	X			x
465.6	2. EVELYN JUAN	232.80	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05	x			
176.1	() 2. PHYLLIS JUAN ()	88.05	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	107.70	x			
215.4	2. DENNIS RAMON	107.70	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	x			
166.3	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	83.15	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70	х			
175.4	() 2. PATRICIA CRUZ ()	87.70	х			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	85.15	X			
170.3	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	85.15	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	х			
191.4	() 2. MICHAEL FLORES (Willard Manuel)	95.70	X			x
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	126.80	x			
253.6	2. JEROME JOAQUIN	126.80	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45				x
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45				x
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	182.05	х			
364.1	(Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182.05	X			x
	TOTAL	2,629.7	2,370.8	-0-	-0-	258.9 [05]