RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointment of Kiohod Ramirez-Norris as TERO Commissioner)

RESOLUTION NO. 04-046

1	WHEREAS,	the To hono O' od ham Legislative Council is empowered to select and fill vacancies on an extension for all the contractions are the contraction of the co
2		the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a. "TERO Commission") pursuant
3		to the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85 ("TERO
4		Ordinance"), Section 6 (B) (2); and
5	WHEREAS,	Section 6 (C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "Commissioners shall be
6		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
7		qualified, provided, however, the appointment to the Commission shall be made in
8		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms
9		of office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year."; and
10	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
11		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments ofTERO
12		Commissioners" (Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
13	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee conducted a Commissionership search to address
14		the expired terms by publicly announcing the three vacancies to all districts and
15		requested that nominations be submitted for their consideration; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee did receive six (6) nominations to fill the three
17		vacancies; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified applicants and
19		recommends the appointment of Kiohod Ramirez-Norris on the Commission
20		commencing upon the effective date of this resolution and ending February 2006 or
21		until his successor is appointed and qualified; and
22	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee recommends to the Tohono O'odham Legislative
23		Council that Kiohod Ramirez-Norris be appointed as a member of the TERO
24		Commission.
25	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints
26		Kiohod Ramirez-Norris, as TERO Commissioner pursuant to Section 6 (B) (1) & (C) of
27		the TERO Ordinance No. 01-85, commencing upon the effective date of this resolution
28		and ending February 2006.

	(Appointment of Kiohod Ramirez-Norris as TERO Commissioner) Page 2 of 3							
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	regoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12^{TH} . Day RUARY, 2004 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,037.05 FOR; 416.55 ST; 176.1 NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by n 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the 10 O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant ary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 34 (48 Stat. 984).							
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
10 11 12								
13	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
14 15	17th day of Lebruary, 2004							
16 17	ATTEST:							
18								
19 20	June Joka							
21	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary							
22 23	124 day of <u>February</u> , 2004.							
24 25	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono							
26	O'Odham Nation on the $\frac{17^{\frac{11}{25}}}{125}$ day of $\frac{1}{25}$							
27	.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become							
28	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours							
29	of submittal.							
30 21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
31 32	TOHONO O ODRAW LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
33								
34	Num /2							
35	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
36 27								
37 39								
38 39	[] APPROVED on the 19 day of 1000 day of 1000 day., 2004 [] DISAPPROVED at 12:00 o'clock, 1.M.							
40	12:22							
41	[] DISAPPROVED at $\frac{1}{100}$ o'clock, $\frac{1}{100}$.M.							
42 43	Variation Lauredows							
44 15	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN							
45 46	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>04-046</u> (Appointment of Kiohod Ramirez-Norris as TERO Commissioner)									
	Page 3 of 3									
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of									
2 3	<u>Fubmuy</u> , 2004, at 12:53 o'clock, P.M.									
4										
5										
6	Harrie John									
7	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary									
8										
9										
10										
11 12										
13										
14										
15										
16										
17										
18										
19										
20										
21										
22 23										
24										
25										
26										
27										
28										
29										
30										
31										
32 33										
34										
35										
36										
37										
38										
39										
40										
41										
42										
43										
44 45										
-T-J										
	I									

ACTION: APPOINTMENT OF KIOHOD RAMIREZ-NORRIS AS TERO COMMISSIONER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN GLORIA RAMIREZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN DARLENE ANDREW

DATE: FEBRUARY 12, 2004

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (absent) (Nicholas Jose) (present) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	96.30 96.30	x x			
SELLS 465.6	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	232.80	X X			
	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	232.80	A			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05			X	
176.1	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	88.05			х	
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (absent)	107.70	X			
215.4	(Olivia Liston) (present) 2. DENNIS RAMON (Eleanor Hunter)	107.70		х		
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	х			х
166.3	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	83.15	х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70	x			
175.4	2. PATRICIA CRUZ	87.70	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	85.15	x			
170.3	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	85.15	х			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	X			
191.4	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Willard Manuel)	95.70	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	126.80	x			
253.6	2. JEROME JOAQUIN (Roberta Picard)	126.80		х		
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45	х			
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45	X			Х
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	182.05	X			
364.1	(Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182.05		Х		
	TOTAL	2,629.7	2,037.05	416.55	176.1	[02]

^{**}PASSED VOTES