RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointment of Jennifer Thomas as TERO Commissioner)

RESOLUTION NO. 04-047

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is empowered to select and fill vacancies on constant and constant are considered to a constant and constant are constant are constant.
2		the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a. "TERO Commission") pursuant
3		to the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85 ("TERO
4		Ordinance"), Section 6 (B) (2); and
5	WHEREAS,	Section 6 (C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "Commissioners shall be
6		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
7		qualified, provided, however, the appointment to the Commission shall be made in
8		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms
9		of office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year."; and
10	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
11		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments ofTERO
12		Commissioners" (Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
13	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee conducted a Commissionership search to address
14		the expired terms by publicly announcing the three vacancies to all districts and
15		requested that nominations be submitted for their consideration; and
16	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee did receive six (6) nominations to fill the three
17		vacancies; and
18	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified applicants and
19		recommends the appointment of Jennifer Thomas on the Commission commencing
20		upon the effective date of this resolution and ending February 2006 or until her
21		successor is appointed and qualified; and
22	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee recommends to the Tohono O'odham Legislative
23		Council that Jennifer Thomas be appointed as a member of the TERO Commission.
24	NOW, THER	EFORE, BEITRESOLVEDthattheTohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilherebyappoints
25		Jennifer Thomas, as TERO Commissioner pursuant to Section 6 (B) (1) & (C) of the
26		TERO Ordinance No. 01-85, commencing upon the effective date of this resolution and
27		ending February 2006.

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>04-047</u> (Appointment of Jennifer Thomas as TERO Commissioner) Page 2 of 3
1 2 3	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>12TH.</u> Day of <u>FEBRUARY, 2004</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,830.6</u> FOR; <u>623.0</u> AGAINST; <u>176.1</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
4	Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the
5 6	Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June
7	18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
8	
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
10	
11	
12	
13	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
14 15	17th day of February, 2004
16	77 uay 01 <u>Steption</u> , 2004
17	ATTEST:
18	
19	
20	Muse Francisco
21	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
22	
23	12th day of Fibruary, 2004.
24	
25	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 17th day of February, 2004 at 4:37 o'clock, P.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
26	O'Odham Nation on the 17 day of Fielmany, 2004 at 4:37 o'clock,
27	.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
28	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours
29	of submittal.
30	
31	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
32 33	$\langle \cdot \rangle$
34	
35	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
36	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman
37	
38	\mathcal{A}
39	APPROVED on the // day of ///////////////////////////////////
40	10.20
41	on the 19 day of 1000 day of 1000 at 12.02 o'clock, 1.M.
42	
43	/ Vallati to Land & areas of the
44	WWWWV I WNV LYWWV VWW
45	vivian juan-saunders, chairwoman

TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

turned to the Legislative Secretary on the 19th day of Ashmuy, 2004, at 12.53 o'clock, L.M. Shaw Sety cille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
Sebrusy, 2004, at 12.53 o'clock, 1.M. Shait Segretary cille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
Sumin Lygacille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
Suniv Legy cille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
Shain Sefy cille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
cille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
time Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
	-

ACTION: APPOINTMENT OF JENNIFER THOMAS AS TERO COMMISSIONER

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN GLORIA RAMIREZ

SECOND: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

DATE:

FEBRUARY 12, 2004

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (absent) (Nicholas Jose) (present) 2. DARLENE ANDREW	96.30	X			
172.0	(Rita Martinez)	96.30	X			
SELLS 465.6	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	232.80	X			
403.0	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	232.80	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05			х	
176.1	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	88.05			х	
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (absent)	107.70	x			
215.4	(Olivia Liston) (present) 2. DENNIS RAMON (Eleanor Hunter)	107.70	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	x			x
166.3	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	83.15	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70	x			
175.4	2. PATRICIA CRUZ	87.70	x			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam)	85.15	X			
170.3	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	85.15	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	X			
191.4	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Willard Manuel)	95.70	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	126.80	X			
253.6	2. JEROME JOAQUIN (Roberta Picard)	126.80	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45		х		
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45		х		
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	182.05		х		x
364.1	(Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182.05		Х		
	TOTAL	2,629.7	1,830.6	623.0	176.1	[02]

^{**}PASSED VOTES