RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Appointment of Shawn Carlos as TERO Commissioner for a Term Expiring December 31, 2004)

RESOLUTION NO. 04-048

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is empowered to select and fill vacancies on				
2		the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a. "TERO Commission") pursuant				
3		to the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85 ("TERO				
4		Ordinance"), Section 6 (B) (2); and				
5	WHEREAS,	Section 6 (C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "Commissioners shall be				
6		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and				
7		qualified, provided, however, the appointment to the Commission shall be made in				
8		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms				
9		of office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year."; and				
10	WHEREAS,	Ned L. Norris, Jr. was appointed to the Commission (Resolution No. 02-308) with a				
11		term ending December 31, 2004 and he has resigned (see attached letter); and				
12	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and				
13		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments ofTERO				
14		Commissioners" (Legislative Order No. 01-431); and				
15	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified applicants and				
16		recommends the appointment of Shawn Carlos to fill Ned L. Norris, Jr.'s seat on the				
17		Commission commencing upon the effective date of this resolution and ending				
18		December 31, 2004 or until his successor is appointed and qualified.				
19	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby appoints				
20		Shawn Carlos to fill Ned L. Norris, Jr.'s seat on the TERO Commission commencing				
21		upon the effective date of this resolution and ending December 31, 2004 or until his				
22		successor is appointed and qualified.				
23						
24	The foregoi	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 12 TH . Day				
25 26	OI <u>FEBRUAL</u> AGAINST: 1	RY, 2004 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,655.2 FOR; 798.4 76.1 NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by				
27	Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the					
28	Tohono O'	Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant				
29 30	Secretary - 18, 1934 (48	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June				
30 31	10, 1734 (48	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL				

RESOLUTION NO. <u>04-048</u> Appointment of Shawn Carlos Page 2 of 2	s as TERO Commissioner for a Term Expiring December 31, 2004						
	Ω						
	Power Review Variable time Chair						
	Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman						
	17th day of Lubury, 2004						
	17 day or Stoney, 2004						
ATTEST:							
June Topy							
ucille Lopez, Acting Legisla	tive Secretary						
174 11							
12th day of Filmming	<u>/</u>						
<i>V</i>							
aid Resolution was submit	tted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the T						
Odham Nation on the /	7th day of February , 2004 at 4:38 0						
	visions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will be						
enecuve upon ner approvat o A submittal.	or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48						
or submittar.							
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
	TOHONO O ODITAM LEGISMALIVE COONCIL						
	A. S.						
Dennis Ramon, Legislative Chairman							
	· · · · · ·						
	10 Solicium MA						
/] APPROVED	on the 19 day of HUNUMY, 2004 at 12:03 o'clock, L.M.						
	17.73						
] DISAPPROVED	at 1000 o'clock, 1.M.						
	Vunair man Saunden						
	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN						
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION						
Returned to the Legislative S	Secretary on the 1942 day of						
<u> February</u> , 2004,	at <u>/2:53</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M.						

ACTION: APPOINTMENT OF SHAWN CARLOS AS TERO COMMISSIONER FOR A TERM EXPIRING DECEMBER 31, 2004

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN DARLENE ANDREW

DATE: FEBRUARY 12, 2004

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
SIF OIDAK 192.6	1. ISIDRO LOPEZ (absent) (Nicholas Jose) (present) 2. DARLENE ANDREW	96.30	X			
	(Rita Martinez)	96.30	X			
SELLS 465.6	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	232.80	x			x
403.0	2. EVELYN JUAN ()	232.80	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	88.05			х	
176.1	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	88.05			x	
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (absent)	107.70	X			
215.4	(Olivia Liston) (present) 2. DENNIS RAMON (Eleanor Hunter)	107.70	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	83.15	X			x
166.3	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	83.15	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	87.70		x		
175.4	2. PATRICIA CRUZ	87.70		X		
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	85.15	x			
170.3	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	85.15	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	95.70	x			
191.4	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Willard Manuel)	95.70	X			х
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	126.80	x			
253.6	2. JEROME JOAQUIN (Roberta Picard)	126.80	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. KENNETH WILLIAMS	129.45		х		
258.9	(Juanita Homer) 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.45		х		
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL **	182.05		х		
364.1	(Lucilda Norris-Valenzuela) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	182.05		х		
	TOTAL	2,629.7	1,655.2	798.4	176.1	[03]

^{**}PASSED VOTES