LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying Election of Evelyn Juan Manuel as Chairwoman of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 05-256

1	WHEREAS,	during the June 6, 2005 General Session, the Legislative Council did conduct an							
2		election for the Office of the Legislative Chairperson in accordance with Article XII,							
3		Section 2 of the Legislative Rules; and							
4	WHEREAS,	each Representative did cast their vote for one of the candidates nominated for said							
5		office; Councilman Verlon Jose received 448.95 votes; Councilwoman Evelyn Juan-							
6		Manuel received 972.05 votes; Councilwoman Frances B. Conde received 698.5 votes							
7		and Councilman Timothy Joaquin received 321.3 votes; and							
8	WHEREAS,	none of the candidates received the majority votes required to be deemed elected as							
9		Chairperson, thereby resulting in a run off between the top two candidates, namely,							
10		Councilwoman Frances B. Conde and Councilwoman Evelyn Juan-Manuel; and							
11	WHEREAS,	in the run offelection, Councilwoman Evelyn Juan-Manuel received 1,422.7 votes and							
12		Councilwoman Frances B. Conde received 1,018.1 votes; and							
13	WHEREAS,	Councilwoman Evelyn Juan-Manuel having received a majority of the votes cast was							
14		declared as the Legislative Chairwoman Elect.							
15	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it does								
16	hereby certify the election of Evelyn Juan-Manuel as Chairwoman of the Tohono								
17		O'odham Legislative Council.							
18 19 20 21 22 23 24	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 06^{TH} . Day of <u>IUNE, 2005</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,440.80</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>-0-</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).								
25		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
26 27									
28		Juim John							
29		Lucille Lopez, Pro Tem Chairperson							
30 31									
32	ATTEST:								
33									
34									
35	- AU								
36	Yulia ńna Sa	raficio, Assistant Secretary							

ACTION: CERTIFYING ELECTION OF EVELYN JUAN MANUEL AS CHAIRWOMAN OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

MOVED: COUNCILMAN DENNIS JOSE

SECOND: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

DATE: JUNE 06, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	X			
	(Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK 258.7	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x			
230.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	X			~
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	Х			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	Х			
193.1	() 2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X	•		
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	x			
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	х			
171.8	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	Х			
169.0	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	х			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	Х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	х			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210.50	х			
421.0	2. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL ())	210.50	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	х			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	-0-