RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing the Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 2005 Mid-Year Conference)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-329

1	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its 2005 Mid-Year							
2		Conference in Green Bay, Wisconsin on June 12-15, 2005; and							
3	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation is a long time member in good standing with the							
4		National Congress of American Indians; and							
5	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its membership							
6		in the National Congress of American Indians; and							
7	WHEREAS,	according to Article III, Section B (b) of the By-Laws of National Congress of American							
8		Indians, "each member tribe shall designate its official representative from							
9		individuals eligible for voting membership in this organization and may designate							
10		alternates"; and							
11	WHEREAS,	according to Article III, Section B (c)(2) of the By-Laws of National Congress of							
12		American Indians, "tribal representatives must have a current year Tribal resolution							
13		specifying the person as a delegate."							
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby								
15		authorizes the following members to attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham Nation							
16	delegation to the National Congress of American Indians:								
17	Legislative Council Chairwoman Evelyn Juan Manuel, Voting Delegate								
18		Councilwoman Delma Garcia, Voting Alternate							
19		Councilwoman Olivia Villegas-Liston							
20		Councilman John Lawson Sr.							
21	Councilwoman Cynthia Manuel								
22 23 24 25 26 27 28	of <u>JUNE, 20(</u> <u>-0-</u> NOT VO Article VI o Nation on Ja	Ing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 09^{TH} . Day <u>05</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,440.80</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; FING; and <u>[01]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (f) of f the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham anuary 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs s) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).							
29 30		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
31									
32		Conclim frem Manual							
33		Evelyn Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
34		10th 1							
35		<u>/0 h</u> day of, 2005							

RESOLUTION NO. 05-329 (Authorizing the Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 2005 Mid-Year Conference) Page 2 of 2 ATTEST: Jumi Sala Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary 104 day of Func , 2005. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 10^{th} day of 10^{th} , 2005 at 3.23 o'clock, 2. M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Den Monal Evelyn Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman on the <u>13</u>th day of <u>Jupe</u>, 2005 [√] APPROVED at 9:06 o'clock, A.M. **[] DISAPPROVED** VIVIAN IUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{13^{42}}{10^{42}}$ day of _____, 2005, at 9:15 o'clock, A .M. Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: AUTHORIZING THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS 2005 MID-YEAR CONFERENCE

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILMAN DENNIS JOSE

DATE: JUNE 09, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	X			
310.8	() 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzueła (Norris))	155.40	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA (David Garcia)	129.35	x			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE ()	129.35	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	х			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	х			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES	96.55	X			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	x			
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	x			
171.8	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	x			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	x			x
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	x			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210 50	x			
421.0	() 2. EVELYN JUAN MANUEL (Margaret Listo (Valenzuela))	210.50	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS (Isidro Lopez)	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	x			
	TOTAL	2,440.8	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[01]