RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Patrick Andrews as the Executive Director to the Department of Education)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-397

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation provides the Chairwoman of the					
2		Tohono O'odham Nation the authority to appoint heads of governmental					
3		departments with the approval of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council (Article					
4		VII Section 2e); and					
5	WHEREAS,	the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'odham Nation has identified and conducted a					
6		preliminary interview with the appointee; and					
7	WHEREAS.	Mr. Patrick Andrews is qualified to assume the position of Executive Director of the					
,		and the second of the position					
8		Department of Education and whose background investigation has been completed;					
9		and					
10	WHEREAS,	Mr. Patrick Andrews has accepted the position and appointment upon approval of					
11		the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.					
12	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby						
13		approve the appointment of Mr. Patrick Andrews as the Executive Director of the					
14		Department of Education.					
15	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mr. Patrick Andrews shall serve at the pleasure of the						
16		Chairwoman of the Tohono O'odham Nation.					
17	Theforegoi	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 13 TH . Day					
18	, -	05 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,850.8 FOR; 590.0					
,)- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by					
20	Section 1 (t	n) and Section 2 (e) of Article VII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation,					
21	adopted by	the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy					
	t .	cretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the					
23	Act of June	18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).					
24		TOWNS CONTAIN A ROLL A THUR CONTROL					
25		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
26		$(A \cup A \cup B)$					
27		with of while					
28		Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman					
29							
30							
31		V					
32							

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-397</u> (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Patrick Andrews as the Executive Director to the Department of Education) Page 2 of 2
1	ATTEST:
2	
3	June Sofy
4	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
5	1 ch +
6	1844 day of <u>July</u> , 2005.
7	
8	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono
9	O'Odham Nation on the 18th day of, 2005 at 2:32 o'clock, M., pursuant to the provisions of Section Fof Article VII of the Constitution and will become
10	
11 12	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.
13	nours of submittal.
14	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
15	
16	(mely & Lund
17	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman
18	
19	
20	1 cth - Oul
21	[\checkmark APPROVED on the $\cancel{\cancel{9}}^{12}$ day of $\cancel{\cancel{1}}$, 2005
22 23	[] APPROVED on the 1914 day of July , 2005 [] DISAPPROVED at 9/31 o'clock, A.M.
23 24	[] DISAPPROVED at $9/3$ o'clock, 4 .M.
25	
26	MMAUMAN Saunders
27	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
28	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
29	
30	
31	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
32 33	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of
33 34	
35	, 2003, at <u>7.73</u> 0 clock, <u>7.7</u>
36	
37	Snuw John
38	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
39	
40	
41	
42	
43 44	
77	

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. PATRICK ANDREWS AS THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO THE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN CYNTHIA MANUEL

DATE: JULY 13, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	X			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA**	129.35	x			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	X			
GU ACHI	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	X			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X			Х
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	X			
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50		X		х
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50		x		
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON ()	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE**	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN ()	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210 50		x		
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN-MANUEL ()	210.50		Х		
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	X			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	X			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	1,850.8	590.0	-0-	[02]