RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Appointing Shawn Ramon to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring December 31, 2007)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-456

		1120201101110. <u>UJ-130</u>
1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, of ficers and agents '' (Constitution of the TohonoO' od ham Nation,
4		Article VI, Section 1(b)); and
5	WHEREAS,	in 1985 the Papago Council enacted the Papago Employment Rights Ordinance ("TERO
6		Ordinance"), thereby establishing the Papago Employment Rights Commission (a.k.a.,
7		"TERO Commission") and vesting the Council with the power to select and appoint
8		TERO commissioners (TERO Ordinance, Ordinance No. 01-85, Section 6(B)(2)); and
9	WHEREAS,	Section 6(C) of the TERO Ordinance further provides that "Commissioners shall be
10		appointed for terms of three years, or until their successors are appointed and
11		${\bf qualified, provided, however, that appointments to the Commission shall be made in}$
12		such a way and for such terms that their terms shall be staggered so that the terms of
13		office of only two Commissioners will end in any single year."; and
14	WHEREAS,	ShawnCarloswasappointedtotheCommissionwithatermendingDecember31,2004
15		and he continues to serve until his successor is appointed and qualified (Resolution
16		No. 04-048); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has been delegated authority to "review and
18		recommend action by the Legislative Council on appointments of TERO
19		$Commissioners "\ (Plan\ of\ Operation\ for\ the\ Domestic\ Affairs\ Committee,\ Article\ III.D.$
20		as adopted by Legislative Order No. 01-431); and
21	WHEREAS,	the Domestic Affairs Committee has interviewed qualified TERO Commission
22		applicants one of whom, when appointed will serve a term commencing on the
23		effective date of this resolution and ending December 31, 2007 or until his successor
24		is appointed and qualified.
25	NOW, THER	REFORE, BEIT RESOLVED that the TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilherebyappoints
26		Shawn Ramon to the TERO Commission commencing upon the effective date of this
27		Resolution and ending December 31, 2007 or until his successor is appointed and
28		qualified.

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-456</u> (Appointing Shawn Ramon to the TERO Commission for a Term Expiring December 31, 2007) Page 2 of 3						
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	he foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>05TH.</u> Day of <u>AUGUST, 2005</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,100.1</u> FOR; <u>4</u> GAINST; <u>340.7</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council lection 1 (b) & (c)(2) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the ohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant ecretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 8, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).						
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
10							
11 12	(professor B) (1)						
13	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman						
14							
15	11th day of Queput, 2005						
16 17	ATTEST:						
18	ATEST:						
19							
20	Jum John						
21	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary						
22 23	1/4 day of <u>August</u> , 2005.						
24	7. day 01						
- 1	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohor	10					
26	O'Odham Nation on the 11 day of Maul, 2005 at 9:36 o'clock, A.						
27	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effecti	ve					
28	upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours	of					
29	submittal.						
30 31	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
32	O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O						
33	Grelm 18 In Well						
34	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman						
35							
36	Λ						
37	[APPROVED on the						
38 39	on the day of day of , 2005						
40	[] DISAPPROVED at \mathcal{Y} o'clock, \mathcal{L} .M.						
41							
42	/ / MARÍA MA KAMILA X ALLA O ARLA						
43							
44	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN						
45	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION						

mu Juy opez, Acting Legislative Secretary	I.
mu Toper	
mu Toper	
opez, Acting Legislative Secretary	
opez, Acting Legislative Secretary	

ACTION: APPOINTING SHAWN RAMON TO THE TERO COMMISSION FOR A TERM EXPIRING DECEMBER 31, 2007

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN DELMA GARCIA

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE:

AUGUST 05, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	х			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			5
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	X			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	110.80	x			
221.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	x			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	X			
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ** ()	83.70	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	X			х
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90			х	х
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90			x	
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE **	73.45			X	
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN ()	73.45			X	
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210.50	X			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	210.50	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	X			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	x			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,100.1	-0-	340.7	[02]