RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Confirming the Nomination of Ms. Joan Timeche to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-477

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is authorized "To provide for, appoint, or
2		provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of committees,
3		boards, officers and agents; to establish and regulate subordinate organizations for
4		business purposes" (Article VI, Section 1(b), of the Constitution of the Tohono
5		O'odham Nation); and
6	WHEREAS,	the Economic Development Authority of the Tohono O'odham Nation ("EDA") Charter
7		and Plan of Operation ("Charter") was adopted by Resolution No. 01-141; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Charter requires that the Chairwoman of the Nation nominate directors to the
9		EDA Board of Directors, subject to confirmation by formal action of the Legislative
10		Council; and
11	WHEREAS,	the Chairwoman of the Nation has determined that Ms. Joan Timeche is both willing
12		and qualified to serve on the EDA Board of Directors and has nominated him for an
13		additional term on the Board; and
14	WHEREAS,	vacancies on the EDA Board of Directors "shall be filled for the unexpired portion of
15		the term" and directors shall continue to serve until replaced (Charter, Section
16		5(a)(5)(C) and Section 5(a)(4)); and
17	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council Commerce and Rules Committees have both reviewed the
18		Chairwoman's nomination in accordance with the Tohono O'odham Nation Board
19		Appointment Guidelines (Resolution No. 03-044).
20	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby confirms
21		the Chairwoman's nomination of Ms. Joan Timeche to the Economic Development
22		Authority Board of Directors for a term commencing on the effective date of this
23		Resolution and expiring April 30, 2007, provided that Ms. Timeche shall continue to
24		serve until replaced in accordance with the terms of the Charter.
25	The foregoi	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>12TH.</u> Day
26	of <u>SEPTEMB</u>	3ER, 2005 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of $1,786.25$ FOR; 363.5
		91.05 NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
		o) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the
		Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
	18, 1934 (48	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June Stat. 984).

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-477</u>								
	Confirming the Nomination of Ms. Joan Timeche to the Economic Development Authority Board of								
	Directors								
	Page 2 of 2								
1		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
2	,	$A \cdot A = A \cdot A \cdot A \cdot A$							
3		Orelyn B for allul							
4		Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
5									
6		15 day of Synthe 2005							
7 8	ATTEST:	• •							
9	/								
10									
11 (Lugille Lopez, Acting Legislative Sec	retary							
12									
13	15 day of Siptent	2005							
	uay or system.	2005.							
14									
15	Said Resolution was submitted for	approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohon							
16	O'Odham Nation on the 15^{7}	day of Septembre, 2005 at 11:171 o'clock							
17	M., pursuant to the provisions	of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will becom							
18	effective upon her approval or upon	her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hour							
19	of submittal.								
20		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
21		Ω . Ω							
22		Chrela B. Wand							
23		Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
		Everyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chan woman							
24									
25		1							
26	. /	16 handandiac							
27	[V] APPROVED	on the 15 day of September, 2005 at 3:54 o'clock, P.M.							
28		1.01							
29	[] DISAPPROVED	at 3.57 o'clock, 1.4 .M.							
30		-n / n							
31		Misumbull - Is							
32		1/MMAMAMMAWWOW							
33		VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN							
		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
34		TOHORO O ODRAM MALLOM							
35									
36									
37		15th							
38	Returned to the Legislative Secreta								
39	S' - 1	77							
40	September 2005, at 4.	<u>′</u> o'clock, <u>′</u> .M.							
41									
42									
43	/ Xum for								
44	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Sec	cretary							
77	tucine hopez, meting negistative see								

ACTION: CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF MS. JOAN TIMECHE TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN VERLON JOSE SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: **SEPTEMBER 12, 2005**

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	х			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA **	129.35	x			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	x			
GU ACHI 221.6	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles) CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	110.80		X	х	
	(Louis L. Johnson)	110.80		X		
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55			X	
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70		X		
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70			x	
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50		x		x
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50		х		
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	Х			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	X			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN **	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210 50	Х			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL **	210.50	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	X			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	Х			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	1,786.25	363.5	291.05	[01]