## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Confirming Mr. Juan Lopez for Appointment to the Community Development Financial Institution Board)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-485

WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is authorized "To provide for, appoint, or
	$provide\ for\ the\ appointment\ of, and\ prescribe\ the\ duties\ and\ powers\ of\ committees,$
	${\bf boards, of ficers\ and\ agents; to\ establish\ and\ regulate\ subordinate\ organizations\ for}$
	business purposes" (Article VI, Section 1(b), of the Constitution of the Tohono
	O'odham Nation); and
WHEREAS,	pursuant to Resolution No. 04-103, the Community Development Financial
	Institution of the Tohono O'odham Nation ("CDFI") Charter was adopted and five
	initial directors of the CDFI Board were appointed for terms of six months effective
	March 25, 2004 (Charter, Article V, Section 5.1.5); and
WHEREAS,	at the end of the directors' initial six-month terms, the Chairwoman of the Nation
	"shall nominate and the Legislative Council shall appoint five (5) Directors, two (2)
	who shall serve one (1)-year terms, one of whom shall be a director of the EDA Board,
	two (2) who shall serve two (2)-year terms, one of whom shall be a director of the EDA
	Board, and one who shall serve a three (3)-year term" (Charter, Article V, Section
	5.1.6); and
WHEREAS,	$while the initial  directors'  terms  expired  September  {\bf 25,2004}, CDFI  directors  continue$
	to hold office until their successors are appointed and qualified (Charter, Article ${f V},$
	Section 5.1.6); and
WHEREAS,	the Chairwoman of the Nation has determined that Mr. Juan Lopez, who is an EDA
	Board Director, is both willing and qualified to serve on the CDFI Board and
	nominates him for a one-year term on the Board; and
WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council Commerce and Rules Committees have both reviewed the
	Chairwoman's nomination in accordance with the Tohono O'odham Nation Board
	Appointment Guidelines (Resolution No. 03-044).
NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the TohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilherebyconfirms
	Mr. Juan Lopez to the CDFI Board for a term commencing September 30, 2005 and
	expiring September 30, 2006, provided that Mr. Juan Lopez shall continue to serve
	until his successor is appointed and qualified in accordance with the terms of the
	Charter.
BE IT FINA	MLLY RESOLVED that Mr. Lopez' appointment to the CDFI Board satisfies the
	$requirement\ of\ Article\ V,\ Section\ 5.1.6\ of\ the\ Charter\ that\ one\ director\ appointed\ to$
	a one-year term "shall be a director of the EDA Board."
	whereas, whereas, whereas, whereas,

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-485</u> (Confirming Mr. Juan Lopez for Appointment to the Community Development Financial Institution Board) Page 2 of 3
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 13 <sup>TH</sup> . Day of <u>SEPTEMBER</u> , 2005 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 1,496.7 FOR; 167.4 AGAINST; 776.7 NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (b) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
10	
11	$\mathcal{A} = \mathcal{A} = \mathcal{A} = \mathcal{A} = \mathcal{A}$
12	aulm & milling
13	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman
14	15th day of Dersteuber, 2005
15 16	<u>10</u> day of <u>FC1111111</u> , 2005
17	ATTEST:
18	
19	
20	
21	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
22	15th day of Suplent 2005.
23	13 day of 340000 2005.
24 25	Said Pasalutian was submitted for annyoval to the office of the Chairwaman of the Takona
26	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 15th day of 1000 day of 2005 at 1/20 o'clock, 2005 at 1/20 o'clock, 2005 at 200
27	MM nursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
28	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours
29	of submittal.
30	or submitted.
31	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
32	
33	$\begin{pmatrix} 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 & 1 $
34	(Melm D in Mul
35	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman
36	
37	
38	la handa uda a
39	[ ] APPROVED on the 5 day of MMM, 2005
40	
41	o'clock,
42	
43	
44	// LALALATA KOMILA LAURA DALA
45	
46	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
47	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-485</u>								
	(Confirming Mr. Juan Lopez for Appointment to the Community Development Financial Institution								
	(Louata)								
	Page 3 of 3								
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 15th day of								
2	Septembre 2005, at 4:27 o'clock, P.M.								
3									
4									
5									
6	Jun for.								
7	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
8									
9									
10									
11									
12									
13									
14									
15									
ı									
16									
17									
18									
19									
20									
21									
22									
23									
24									
25									
26									
27									
28									
29									
30									
31									
32									
33									
34									
35									
36									
37									
38									
39									
40									
41									
42									
43									
44									
45									
•									

ACTION: CONFIRMING MR. JUAN LOPEZ FOR APPOINTMENT TO THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL

**INSTITUTION BOARD** 

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES CONDE SECOND: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

DATE: **SEPTEMBER 13, 2005** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	x			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	<b>X</b>			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	x			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70		x		
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	83.70		X		х
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50			X	x
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50			X	
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	X			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	X			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	210 50			X	
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	210.50			X	
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS **	93.35			X	
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35			X	
	TOTAL	2,440.80	1,496.7	167.4	776.7	[02]