RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Setting Special Recall Election for October 22, 2005 for Baboquivari District Chairperson Ronald C. Ventura)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-514

1	WHEREAS,	Article VI, Section 1(g) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation delegates
2		the Legislative Council authority "to enact laws and ordinances for conducting and
3		regulating elections"; and
4	WHEREAS,	the Uniform Election Ordinance ("Election Ordinance"), Ordinance No. 03-86,
5		identifies the Election Board's responsibilities and governs the process for recalling
6		district chairmen; and
7	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Election Board has certified Recall Petition #REC-B-01-05
8		("Petition"), in which Baboquivari District voters are petitioning for the recall of
9		Baboquivari District Chairman Ronald C. Ventura; and
10	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Article X, Section 9(B) of the Election Ordinance, the Election Board did
11		(1) notify the chairperson of the Legislative Council of the Petition and Board
12		certification on September 15, 2005, (2) file the Petition with the Legislative Secretary
13		on the same date, and (3) request that the Council call a special election within 40
14		days of receiving the Petition.
15	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby calls a
16		special election to be held on October 22, 2005 for the recall of Ronald C. Ventura.
17	BE IT FINAL	LLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Election Board shall be responsible for
18		conducting the special recall election in accordance with the laws of the Nation.
19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26	of <u>SEPTEME</u> AGAINST; <u>-C</u> Section 1 <u>(g</u> Tohono O'C	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 16 TH . Day BER, 2005 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,440.80 FOR; -0-10-10 NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June Stat. 984).
27		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
28 29		
30		Valor for
31		Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman
32		O(1)
33		<u> </u>

l	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-514</u>
	(Setting Special Recall Election for October 22, 2005 for Baboquivari District Chairperson Ronald C.
	(ventura)
j	Page 2 of 2
1	ATTEST:
2	
3	
4	1 Han
1	
5	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
6	10th
7	19th day of Jeplent, 2005.
8	
9	Soid Decolution was submitted for annual to the efficient of the Chairmann of the Man
ı	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono
10	O'Odham Nation on the day of Suffer de
11	$\sqrt{2}$ M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become
12	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours
13	of submittal.
- 1	or submitten.
14	
15	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
16	I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I
17	
18	
19	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman
20	
21	
22	l. /
23	APPROVED on the day of life , 2005
	on the part day of the part and of the part an
24	[] DISAPPROVED at 12:30 o'clock, 1.M.
25	[] DISAPPROVED at 10.50 o'clock, 1.M.
26	
27	1 living hours will and her
28	1/MMM/MMSaumer
- 1	WIWIAN HIAN CAUNDEDS CHAIDWOMAN
29	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN
30	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
31	
32	
33	Fo
34	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{2/3}{}$ day of
35	<u>September</u> , 2005, at 1.22 o'clock, 1.M.
36	<u>Jeff Convocator</u> , 2005, at <u>7 22 o'clock, <u>7 .</u>M.</u>
37	
38	
39	Kely for:
	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
40	Lucine Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	
-~	

ACTION: SETTING SPECIAL RECALL ELECTION FOR OCTOBER 22, 2005 FOR BABOQUIVARI DISTRICT

CHAIRPERSON RONALD C. VENTURA

MOVED: COUNCILMAN RAYMOND VICTOR

SECOND: COUNCILMAN MICHAEL FLORES

DATE: SEPTEMBER 16, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	Х			х
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	X			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	Х			
GU ACHI	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	X			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	x			
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	x			
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	X			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			х
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	x			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210 50	X			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	210.50	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	X			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	Х			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[02]