LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Amending the Legislative Branch Vehicle Policy Adopted by Legislative Order No. 05-251)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 05-516

1	WHEREAS,	Article V, Section 4 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation vests the
2		Tohono O'odham Council with the power to delegate authority to the Council
3		Chairperson and Vice Chairperson; and
4	WHEREAS,	on September 13, 2001, the Legislative Council adopted Legislative Order No. 01-447,
5		"Approving Delegation of Authority to Legislative Council Chairperson and Vice
6		Chairperson"; and
7	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Legislative Order No. 01-447, the Legislative Officers are delegated
8		$authority to \hbox{``[a]} llocate funds, staff, and other resources for the \hbox{effective operation of}$
9		the Legislative Branch" and to "[a]pprove Legislative Branch expenditures"; and
10	WHEREAS,	by Legislative Order No. 05-251, the Council adopted the Legislative Branch Vehicle
11		Policy developed by the Legislative Officers; and
12	WHEREAS,	Section IV (I) of the Policy provides that ``Passengers who are not employees or Council
13		representatives shall not be transported in legislative vehicles."; and
14	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Branch administration has determined that Section IV(I) does not
15		meet the needs of the Branch when certain situations arise; and
16	WHEREAS,	it is therefore in the Branch's best interest to amend the Legislative Branch Vehicle
17		Policy to delete this provision.
18	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
19		deletes Section IV(I) from the "Legislative Branch Vehicle Policy" adopted by
20		Legislative Order No. 05-251.
21 22 23 24 25	SEPTEMBEI AGAINST; <u>54</u> Article V, Se	ng Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>16TH.</u> Day of <u>R 2005</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,891.7</u> FOR; <u>-0-19.1</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by ction 4 and Article VI, Section 1 <u>(1)</u> of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy
26		cretary-Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act

27

28

29303132

33 34 of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman

ACTION: AMENDING THE LEGISLATIVE BRANCH VEHICLE POLICY ADOPTED BY LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 05-251

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN GLORIA RAMIREZ SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN WAVALENE SAUNDERS

DATE: SEPTEMBER 16, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	х			х
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	Х			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	X			
GU ACHI	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80			X	
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80			X	
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X		·	
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70			X	
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	x			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	X			
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90			X	
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45			X	Х
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45			Х	
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE **	210 50	X			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ()	210.50	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	х			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	X			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	1,891.7	-0-	549.1	[02]