RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Authorizing the Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 2005 Annual Session)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-518

1	WHEREAS,	the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) will hold its 2005 Annual Session
2		in Tulsa, Oklahoma on October 30 - November 4, 2005; and
3	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation is a long time member in good standing with the
4		National Congress of American Indians; and
5	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its membership
6		in the National Congress of American Indians; and
7	WHEREAS,	according to the By-Laws of National Congress of American Indians ("By-Laws"), each
8		member tribe shall designate its official representative from individuals eligible for
9		voting membership and may also designate alternates; and
10	WHEREAS,	the By-Laws further provide that each tribal representative must have a current
11		tribal resolution specifying the person to serve as that tribe's delegate.
12	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
13		authorizes the following officials to attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham Nation's and serve and serve
14		delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 2005 Annual Session:
15		Tohono O'odham Chairwoman Vivian Juan-Saunders, Voting Delegate
16		Legislative Council Vice-Chairman Verlon Jose, Voting Alternate
17		Tohono O'odham Vice-Chairman Ned Norris, Jr.
18		Councilwoman Frances Conde
19		Councilman Timothy Joaquin
20		Councilwoman Felicia Nunez
21		Councilwoman Frances Miguel
22 23	The foregoi	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 16^{TH} . Day 3ER, 2005 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,440.80 FOR; -0-
24	AGAINST: -)- NOT VOTING; and [05] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
25	Section 1 (f)	of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono
26	O'Odham N	ation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
	Indian Affa	irs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
28	Stat 984)	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-518</u> (Authorizing the Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 2009 Annual Session) Page 2 of 2								
1		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
2									
3		'Vel la							
4		Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
5)	V ,							
6		day of Saley 2005							
7									
8	APTEST:								
9	11110								
10	I will a long Acting Logislating 6								
11 12	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
13	19th day of Jentemb	19th day of Septemb, 2005.							
14	- uny or	, 4003.							
15	Said Resolution was submitted f	or approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono							
16		day of Section , 2005 at 12:02 o'clock							
17		is of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become							
18	11 1	on her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours							
19	of submittal.								
20		\wedge							
21		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
22									
23		The for							
24		Evelyn B. Juan Marquel, Legislative Chairwoman							
25									
26		•							
27	1.1/	21 - halander							
28	[V] APPROVED	on the day of little , 2005							
29	I DISABBBOYED	at 12:39 o'clock, 1.M.							
30 31	[] DISAPPROVED	at 100 o'clock, v.m.							
32									
33		/ /MMAN MMSannam							
34		VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN							
35		TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
36									
37		0.00							
38	Returned to the Legislative Secret	ary on the Alay of							
39	11 ()								
40	September, 2005, at	o'clock,M.							
41									
42	Junn to	m 1							
43	17								
44 45	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative So	ecretary							
73									

ACTION: AUTHORIZING THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF

AMERICAN INDIANS 2005 ANNUAL SESSION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

DATE:

SEPTEMBER 16, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	Х			Х
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	X			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	110.80	X			
221.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	Х			X
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	х			x
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	Х			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	X			
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	X			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (73.45	х			x
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. DENNIS E. JOSE	210 50	x			X
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	210.50	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	X			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	X			
	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[05]	