## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Amending the list of Traditional O'odham Leaders of the O'odham in Mexico Communities)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-725

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono Oodham Legislative Council did on 12/05/95 enact Resolution # 95-562							
2		entitled Recognition of the O'odham in Mexico Communities and Traditional							
3		government in order to address issues for Tohono O'odham members who reside on							
4		Tohono O'odham ancestral land in Mexico: and							
5	WHEREAS,	Exhibit B entitled Background on Traditional O'odham Leaders was attached to							
6		Resolution 95-562. Page three lists the Traditional O'odham leaders and							
7		communities recognized in 1995 as follows:							
0									
8		POZO VERDE	EL BAJIO						
9		Ascencio Antone - Primary	Maria Jesus Dominquez - Primary						
10		Felix Antone – Alternate	Harry Noriego						
11	ĺ								
12		<u>CUMALITO</u>	<u>CUBABIE</u>						
13		Luis Juan – Primary	Sylvester Valenzuela - Primary						
14		No Alternate	No Alternate						
15									
16		SAN FRANCISQUITO (RABBITT FALLS)	REPRESSO ENRIQUE (NIGHT HAWKS)						
17		Maria Lorentine - Primary	Alonzo Garcia – Primary						
18		Lupe Garcia – Alternate	Inez Alexander – Alternate						
19		<del>-</del>							
20		CARRIZALITO (BAMBOO)	SONOYTA (SPRING FIELD)						
21		Rosario Antonio – Primary	Rosita Whitehorse – Primary						
22		Angelo Raymond – Alternate	Olga Valencia – Alternate						
23									
24		QUITO VAC (BAC GRASS)	LAS NORIAS (THE WELLS)						
25		Estel Valesco - Primary	Jose D. Garcia – Primary						
26		Hector Manuel - Alternate	Raphael Garcia – Alternate						
27		nector Manuel - Anternate	Raphael Galeia – Miel hate						
28		POZO PRIETO (BLACK WELL)	RANCHO ESPUMA						
29		Matias Choyguha - Primary	NO REPRESENTATION						
			NO REPRESENTATION						
30		Alicia Choyguha – Alternate							
31	WHEREAS,	representatives have either resigned, expired or no longer can serve in their official							
32		capacity and in some cases new representatives have been appointed since 1995.							
33	NOW, THER	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono (	O'odham Legislative Council does hereby						
34		amends, "Exhibit B Back ground On Tradition	onal O'odham Leaders'' of Resolution #95-						
35		562, "Recognition of the O'odham in	Mexico Communities and Traditional						
36		Government" to update the Representativ	es to the Traditional O'odham Leaders as						
37		follows:							
	I		J						

RESOLUTION NO. 05-725 (Amending the list of Traditional O'odham Leaders of the O'odham in Mexico Communities) Page 2 of 3 1 Cedagi Wahia/Pozo Verde Wo'osan/ El Bajio 2 **Felix Antone** Raymond Valenzuela 3 Ana Antone Harry Noriego 4 5 Kom Wahia/Cumalito Kuwit /Cubabie 6 Luis Iuan Sylvester Valenzuela 7 Rosita Esteban Jose Oros 8 9 Cu:Wi I-gersk/San Francisquito Nepodagk/Represso Enrique **10 Representation Unresolved Representation Unresolved** 11 12 Wa:pk/Carrizalito Son Oidak/Sonoyta 13 **Representation Unresolved** Armando Neblina 14 Lillian Romo 15 16 Wak/Quito Vac Nolik/Las Norias 17 **Hector Manuel** Jose Garcia 18 Raphael Garcia 19 20 S-cuk Su:dagi/Pozo Prieto Totssagi/Rancho Espuma 21 **Matias Choguhua** Francisco Garcia 22 Alicia Chuhuhua **Juliana Flores** 23 24 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Felix Antone is hereby recognized as the Governor of O'odham in 25 Mexico. 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Joseph M. Garcia is hereby recognized as the Lieutenant Governor 27 of O'odham in Mexico. 28 BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that all matters affecting O'odham in Mexico will be presented to the 29 Traditional O'odham Leaders who have the responsibility for determining their 30 issues and any and all matters will be presented to the Tohono O'odham Nation 31 Government through the Governor and/or the Lieutenant Governor in his absence. 32 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 06<sup>TH</sup>. Day 33 of <u>DECEMBER, 2005</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,049.95</u> FOR; <u>956.2</u> 34 AGAINST; 434.65 NOT VOTING; and [01] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by 35 Section 3 of Article II and Section 1 (b)&(1) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham 36 Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting 37 Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 38 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). 39 40 41 42 43 44 45

	nending the list of Traditional O'odham Leaders of the O'odham in Mexico Communities)						
	Page 3 of 3						
1	TOHOMO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
2 3							
4	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman						
5							
6	2 day of December, 2005						
7	ATTEST:						
8 9	June John						
10	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary						
11							
12	<u>064</u> day of <u>Jumbr</u> , 2005.						
13							
14							
15	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono						
16 17	O'Odham Nation on the day of						
18	.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours						
19	of submittal.						
20							
21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
22							
23	Jehn for						
24	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman						
25	1 1. 201/						
26 27	[1] APPROVED on the 8 day of Moultative, 2005						
28	IVI APPROVED on the 8 day of MULLUM . 2005						
29	1 1 1 2 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2						
30	[ ] DISAPPROVED at <u>10:28</u> o'clock, <u>a/</u> .M.						
31							
32	Vinian man Saunder-						
33							
34 35	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION						
36	TORONO O ODRAW NATION						
37							
38							
39	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>PH</u> day of						
40							
41							
42 43							
43 44	Juna John						
45	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary						
10							

ACTION: AMENDING THE LIST OF TRADITIONAL O'ODHAM LEADERS OF THE O'ODHAM IN MEXICO

**COMMUNITIES** 

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN VERLON JOSE

SECOND:

**COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN** 

**DATE:** 

**DECEMBER 06, 2005** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	Х			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40		X		
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	X			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	110.80	x			
221.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	Х			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55		x	-	
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55		X		
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70			x	x
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	83.70			X	
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	x			
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ( )	84.50	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90			x	
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90			X	
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45			X	
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN**	210.50		x		
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50		х		
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS**	93.35		x		
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35		X		_
TOTAL		2,440.80	1,049.95	956.2	434.65	[01]

<sup>\*\*</sup>PASSED VOTES