RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Approving Membership and Appointing Frances Conde as the Nation's Representative and Ethel Garcia s Alternate Representative to the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association)

RESOLUTION NO. 05-729

1	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council is vested with the power to consult "on behalf of the Tohono
2		O'odham Nation with Federal, State and local governments and other Indian tribes
3		or their departments, agencies, or political subdivisions, or with private persons or
4		organizations on all matters within the authority of the Tohono O'odham Council"
5		(Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
6	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation is currently operating a farming business and has a
7		vested interest in the field of agriculture for its members; and
8	WHEREAS,	membership in the Southwest Indian Agricultural Association ("SWIAA") is open to
9		any Indian organization recognized by it's tribal government and/or federally
10		recognized tribe with an interest in the management and development of Indian
11		agricultural resources; and
12	WHEREAS,	pursuant to Resolution No. 03-471, the Legislative Council approved the Nation's
13		membership in the SWIAA and appointed Jerome Joaquin as the Nation's
14		representative and Frances Conde as the alternate representative to the SWIAA; and
15	WHEREAS,	it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its membership
16		in the SWIAA; and
17	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council Agricultural Committee has discussed and recommends the
18		appointment of Frances Conde as the Nation's representative and Ethel Garcia as
19		alternate representative to the SWIAA.
20	NOW, THERE	FORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby approves
21		the Nation's continued membership in the SWIAA and appoints Frances Conde as the
22		Nation's representative and Ethel Garcia as alternate representative to the SWIAA.
23	BE IT FURT	HER RESOLVED that any appointment made pursuant to this Resolution shall
24		immediately expire if the appointed Council representative vacates her office as a
25		Legislative Council representatives for any reason.
26	BE IT FINAI	LLY RESOLVED that this Resolution shall supercede and replace any previous
27		appointments of the Nation's SWIAA representative or alternate representative.

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-729</u> (Approving Membership and Appointing Frances Conde as the Nation's Representative and Ethel Garcia as alternate Representative to the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association) Page 2 of 3								
	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 08^{TH} . Day								
2	of <u>DECEMBER</u> , 2005 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,273.4 FOR; -0.								
3 4	AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>167.4 [02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (f) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono								
5	'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -								
6	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48								
7	Stat. 984).								
8 9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
10 11	Owlm D & me								
12	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman								
13									
14	15 day of December, 2005								
15									
16									
17	ATTEST:								
18	Year of 1								
19	Shin Jyry								
20	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
21	Of								
22	day of <u>JUMM</u> , 2005.								
23	a tip i di anno la la la companyo de de companyo de de Tabana								
24 25	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 15th day of <u>NCCmlm</u> , 2005 at 3:25 o'clock								
26	O'Odnam Nation on the $\frac{75}{2000}$ day of $\frac{1}{20000}$ decomposition and will become								
27	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours								
28	of submittal.								
29									
30	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
31	A 12 C. 1. 10-								
32	willing is for the								
33	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman								
34									
35									
36	APPROVED on the 15 day of William, 2005								
37 38	11-V -								
39	[] DISAPPROVED at 4'04 o'clock, 1.M.								
40	Λ // Λ								
41	MusuhauSaund								
42									
43	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN								
44	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
45									
46									

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>05-729</u> (Approving Membership and Appointing Frances Conde as the Nation's Representative and Ethel Garcia									
	as alternate Representative to the Southwest Indian Agriculture Association) Page 3 of 3									
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 15 day of									
3	neturned to the Legislative Secretary on the // day of									
4	<u></u>									
5	United Sept.									
6	Sum Syly									
7 8	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary									
9										
10										
11		l								
12		l								
13										
14 15		l								
16										
17		l								
18										
19		l								
20		l								
21 22										
23		l								
24		l								
25		l								
26		l								
27 28		l								
28 29		l								
30		l								
31		١								
32		١								
33		l								
34 35		l								
36		l								
37		l								
38										
39		١								
40 41										
41 42										
43 44		١								
44										

ACTION: APPROVING MEMBERSHIP AND APPOINTING FRANCES CONDE AS THE NATION'S REPRESENTATIVE AND

ETHEL GARCIA AS ALTERNATE REPRESENTATIVE TO THE SOUTHWEST INDIAN AGRICULTURE

ASSOCIATION

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN VERLON JOSE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS JUAN

DATE: DECEMBER 08, 2005

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	X			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	X			
258.7	() 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	X			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	Х			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70				x
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70				X
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	X			
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	х			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	х			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210 50	x			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	210.50	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	х			
	TOTAL	2,440.8	2,273.4	-0-	-0-	167.4 [02]

^{**}PASSED VOTES