RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Authorizing the Participation of KOHN 91.9 FM in the Center for Native American Public Radio's Interconnection Grant Proposal and Submission of a Grant Application to Public Telecommunications Facilities Program)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>06-056</u>

.

1	WHEREAS,	KOHN 91.9 FM is a non-commercial educational radio station licensed to the Tohono
2		O'odham Nation; and
3	WHEREAS,	the Center for Native American Public Radio (CNAPR) provides technical, fundraising,
4		and programmatic support to nearly 30 public radio stations serving Native American
5		listeners; and
6	WHEREAS,	CNAPR has initiated an Interconnection Project to assist Native owned radio stations
7		that are not currently connected to the Public Radio Satellite System (PRSS) to obtain
8		the necessary funding to purchase equipment to become an active participant in
9		PRSS and to interconnect the 33 Native owned radio stations; and
10	WHEREAS,	CNAPR as a part of the Interconnection Project will hire a grant writer to prepare a
11		grant proposal on behalf of participating Native owned radio stations for submission
12		to the Public Telecommunications Facilities Program (PTFP) to fund the acquisition
13		of satellite equipment for interconnection; and
14	WHEREAS,	participation in the Interconnection Project will require KOHN 91.9 FM to share the
15		cost of hiring a PTFP grant writer with CNAPR for a total cost of \$750 for KOHN with
16		the remaining balance to be contributed by CNAPR; provide PTFP grant matching
17		funds if KOHN receives a grant of an estimated \$5,850, 25% of the total expected
18		project cost of \$23,400, with the balance of \$17,550, 75% of the total expected project
19		cost, to covered by the grant and pay subscription fees to PRSS; and
20	WHEREAS,	KOHN's operating annual operating budget is sufficient to meet the costs the
21		Interconnection Project listed above without needing additional funding for which
22		provisions are being proposed in KOHN's fiscal year 2007 budget, the expected grant
23		year of the project.
24	NOW, THE	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby
25		authorizes KOHN 91.9 FM to participate in the CNAPR Interconnection Project and to
26		submit a grant application to the Public Telecommunications Facilities Program.
	11	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>06-056</u> (Authorizing the Participation of KOHN 91.9 FM in the Center for Native American Public Radio's Interconnection Grant Proposal and Submission of a Grant Application to Public Telecommunications Facilities Program) Page 2 of 3							
1	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that KOHN 91.9 FM is further authorized to designate a portion of its							
2	operating annual budget to the cost sharing requirements of the Interconnection							
3	Project, to meeting PFTP grant matching requirements as may be necessary but not							
4	more than 25% (\$5,850.00) of the total expected grant amount of \$23,400 and to							
5	subscribe to the PRSS.							
6 7	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>26th</u> . Day of JANUARY, 2006 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,440.80 FOR; -0-							
8	AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [02] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by							
9	Section 1 (f) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono							
10	O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -							
	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48							
12 13	Stat. 984).							
13 14	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
15								
16	Aller B And							
17	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
18								
19	217 day of 2006							
20								
20 21	ų – C							
21 22	ATTEST:							
23	Anna Leka							
24								
	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary							
26	21H. Familanda							
27	344 day of Fannang, 2006.							
28								
29	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono							
30	O'Odham Nation on the <u>27</u> ^h day of <u>, 2006 at <u>3</u>:3/ o'clock,</u>							
31	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
32	upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of							
33	submittal.							
34								
35	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
36	$(\mathcal{D}_{\mathcal{D}}_{\mathcal{D}_{\mathcal{D}}}}}}}}}}$							
37	Druch Dquit							
38	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
39								
40								
41								
42								

RESOLUTION NO. 06-056 (Authorizing the Participation of KOHN 91.9 FM in the Center for Native American Public Radio's Interconnection Grant Proposal and Submission of a Grant Application to Public Telecommunications Facilities Program) Page 3 of 3 on the <u>31²⁴</u> day of <u>Aurmann</u> at <u>8:38</u> o'clock, <u>A</u>.M. APPROVED , 2006 [] DISAPPROVED VIVIAN IUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 3^{15} day of 2006. at 8 nnar Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: AUTHORIZING THE PARTICIPATION OF KOHN 91.9 FM IN THE CENTER FOR NATIVE AMERICAN PUBLIC RADIO'S INTERCONNECTION GRANT PROPOSAL AND SUBMISSION OF A GRANT APPLICATION TO PUBLIC TELECOMMUNICATIONS FACILITIES PROGRAM

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES CONDE

DATE: JANUARY 26, 2006

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	X			x
310.8	2.FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J.Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x			
258.7	(2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	110.80	x			
221.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	Х			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	x			
193.1	() 2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	x			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	х	1		
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ()	83.70	Х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	X			
169.0	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50	X			X
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	X			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	х			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	х			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	x			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	210.50	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	х			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW** (Rita Martinez)	93.35	Х			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[02]