## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Recognizing the Baboquivari District Council Appointment of Vernon Smith as Alternate to Legislative Representative Frances Miguel)

RESOLUTION NO. 06-217

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation Election Board conducted the 2003 general election on				
2		Saturday, May 24, 2003; and				
3	WHEREAS,	Frances Miguel received the most votes for the open Baboquivari Legislative				
4		Representative seat during the 2003 general election; and				
5	WHEREAS,	${\bf a}{\bf vacancy}{\bf currently}{\bf exists}{\bf in}{\bf the}{\bf Legislative}{\bf Council}{\bf alternate}{\bf seat}{\bf for}{\bf Council woman}$				
6		Miguel; and				
7	WHEREAS,	such vacancies are filled in the following manner: "If a vacancy should occur in the				
8		office of representative to the council, the alternate of that representative shall				
9		immediately succeed to the office of representative and the council of the district				
10		from which they were elected shall appoint an alternate who shall hold office for the				
11		${\bf unexpired term of his predecessor.}" (Uniform Election Ordinance, Article IV, Section$				
12		5.B.); and				
13	WHEREAS,	on March 27, 2006 the Baboquivari District Council appointed Vernon Smith as				
14		alternate to Councilwoman Miguel pursuant to District Resolution No. 06-B-05.				
15	NOW, THE REFORE, BEITRESOLVEDthattheTohonoO'odhamLegislativeCouncilrecognizesthat					
16		(1) the Baboquivari District has duly appointed Vernon Smith as the Legislative				
17		Council alternate to Councilwoman Frances Miguel and (2) Vernon Smith is hereby				
18		seated as Councilwoman Miguel's alternate and shall serve when Councilwoman				
19		Frances Miguel is unable to attend a meeting in accordance with the Constitution and				
20		laws of the Tohono O'odham Nation and the rules and procedures of the Legislative				
21		Council.				
22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29	of <u>APRIL, 2</u> AGAINST; <u>-0</u> Article XII, Tohono O'C approved b	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 3 <sup>RD</sup> . day 006 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,440.80 FOR; -0-1 NOT VOTING; and [-0-] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1, Article VI, Section 1(g), and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and y the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, o Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).				
30		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL				
31 32		Q = Q = Q				
33		unul my				
34 35		Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman				
36		3 day of Opril, 2006				

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>06-217</u>
	(Recognizing the Baboquivari District Council Appointment of Vernon Smith as Alternate to Legislative Property of Council
	Representative Frances Miguel)
	Page 2 of 2
1 2	ATTEST:
3	Junio Loka
4	
5	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
6	13 day of 4 day, 2006.
7 8	$\frac{\iota \circ}{\int} day \circ i \frac{\sqrt{\gamma \iota \omega}}{1 - (1 + \alpha)^2 + (1 +$
9	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohone
10	O'Odham Nation on the
11	
12	upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o
13	submittal.
14	
15	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
16	
17	mad 4 a
18	1 may
19	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman
20	
21	
22	[\right] APPROVED on the
23	
24	[ ] DISAPPROVED at $\frac{4'24}{}$ o'clock, $\frac{1}{2}$ .M.
25	[ ] DISAPPROVED at $\frac{1}{2}$ o'clock, $\frac{1}{2}$ .M.
26	Umian Bran Samiden
27	//MITAIL KIAIA SAULI SEL
28	///W/AWA PANDERS CHAIRWAN
29	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
30	TORONO O ODHAM NATION
31	
32	
33	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>13</u> day of
34 25	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 10 day of
35 36	Wall some at 4114 algebrate & M
37	(1)ml, 2006, at 4:14 o'clock, P.M.
38	
39	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
40	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
41	
42	
43	
44 45	
45	

ACTION: RECOGNIZING THE BABOQUIVARI DISTRICT COUNCIL APPOINTMENT OF VERNON SMITH AS

ALTERNATE TO LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVE FRANCES MIGUEL

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

**DATE:** APRIL 03, 2006

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	x			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	X			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	х			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	x			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Absent) (Grace Manuel) (Present)	96.55	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA	83.70	X			
167.4	(Mary E. Sam) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	83.70	х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	x			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	х			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50	x			
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50	х			
SAN XAVIER 193.8	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	х			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	X			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL(Absent) (Kimberly Listo) (Present)	210.50	х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	х			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[-0-]