RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Confirming the Nomination of Mr. William L. Engles to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors)

RESOLUTION NO. 06-272

1	WHEREAS,	the 10nono O'odnam Legislative Council is authorized "to provide for, appoint or					
2		provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of committees,					
3		boards, officers and agents; to establish and regulate subordinate organization for					
4		business purposes" (Article VI, Section 1(b), of the Constitution of the Tohono					
5		O'odham Nation); and					
6	WHEREAS,	the Economic Development Authority of the Tohono O'odham Nation amended and					
7		reinstated (EDA) Charter and Plan of Operation (Charter) was approved by Resolution					
8		No. 06-092; and					
9	WHEREAS,	the Charter requires that the Chairwoman of the Nation nominate Directors to the					
10		EDA Board of Directors, subject to confirmation by formal action of the Legislative					
11		Council; and					
12	WHEREAS,	the Chairwoman of the Nation has determined that Mr. William L. Engles is both					
13		willing and qualified to serve on the EDA Board of Directors and has nominated Mr.					
14		Engles to serve on the EDA Board of Directors; and					
15	WHEREAS,	vacancies on the EDA Board of Directors "shall be filled for the unexpired portion of					
16		the term" and Directors shall continue to serve until replaced (Charter, Section 5(a)(5)					
17		(c) and Section 5(a)(4); and					
18	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council Commerce Committee and Rules Committee have both					
19		reviewed the Chairwoman's nomination in accordance with the Tohono O'odham					
20		Nation Board Appointment Guidelines (Resolution No. 03-044).					
21	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby confirms						
22		$the {\it Chairwoman's nomination of Mr. William L. Engles to the Economic Development}$					
23		Authority Board of Directors for a term commencing on the effective date of this					
24		Resolution and expiring June 30, 2008, provided that Mr. Engles shall continue to					
25		serve until replaced in accordance with terms of the Charter.					
26 27 28 29 30	of <u>MAY, 200</u> AGAINST; <u>-(</u> Section 1 <u>(b)</u> O'Odham N	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>02ND.</u> Day <u>6</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,599.55</u> FOR; <u>841.25</u> <u>1- NOT VOTING</u> ; and <u>[01]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono ation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -					
31 32	Indian Affa Stat. 984).	irs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48					

	RESOLUTION NO. 06-272							
	(Confirming the Nomination of Mr. William L. Engles to the Economic Development Authority Board of							
	Directors) Page 2 of 2							
	rage 2 01 2							
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
2	(α_{11})							
3	Will My X							
4	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
5	15 day of May, 2006							
6	(1) day of / (2), 2006							
7								
8	ATTEST:							
9	U. C. P. I							
10	Mus Gify							
11	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary							
12								
13	03 day of Mky , 2006.							
14								
15	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono							
16	O'Odham Nation on the 15 day of 74, 2006 at 10.24 o'clock, 16.1M.							
	I A ' '							
17	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective							
18	upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of							
19	submittal.							
20								
21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
22	(man) nh							
23	(Will mill)							
24	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman							
25								
26								
27	\sim							
28	[APPROVED on the 15 day of Mw, , 2006							
29								
30	[] DISAPPROVED at 12.29 o'clock, 12.39 .M.							
31								
32								
33	//www.hausawww							
34	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN							
35	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
36	TOHONG O OPERMINATION							
37								
38	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>/5</u> day of							
39	Keturneu to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>//</u> gay of							
40	MARCO 2005 1 3'13 113 12 2 2							
41	May , 2006, at <u>3.13</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M.							
42								
43	Gueri of h							
44	Jum Jagy							
45	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary							
46								

ACTION: CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF MR. WILLIAM L. ENGLES TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

MOVED: VICE CHAIRMAN VERLON JOSE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FELICIA NUNEZ

DATE:

MAY 02, 2006

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith)	155.40	X			
510.6	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	X			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	X			
GU ACHI 221.6	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80		X		
221.0	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80		X		
GU VO 193.1	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	X			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55		Х		
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam)	83.70		x		
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70		X		X
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50		X		
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50		X		
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	X			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN **	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	X			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ** (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS (Isidro Lopez)	93.35		X		
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35		X		
	TOTAL	2,440.80	1,599.55	841.25	-0-	[01]