RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Confirming the Nomination of Mrs. Beatrice Tashquinth to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors)

RESOLUTION NO. 06-273

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is authorized "to provide for, appoint or
2		provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of committees,
3		boards, officers and agents; to establish and regulate subordinate organization for
4		business purposes" (Article VI, Section 1(b), of the Constitution of the Tohono
5		O'odham Nation); and
6	WHEREAS,	the Economic Development Authority of the Tohono O'odham Nation amended and
7		reinstated (EDA) Charter and Plan of Operation (Charter) was approved by Resolution
8		No. 06-092; and
9	WHEREAS,	the Charter requires that the Chairwoman of the Nation nominate Directors to the
10		EDA Board of Directors, subject to confirmation by formal action of the Legislative
11		Council; and
12	WHEREAS,	the Chairwoman of the Nation has determined that Mrs. Beatrice Tashquinth is both
13		$willing \ and \ qualified \ to \ serve \ on \ the \ EDA \ Board \ of \ Directors \ and \ has \ nominated \ Mrs.$
14		Tashquinth to serve on the EDA Board of Directors; and
15	WHEREAS,	vacancies on the EDA Board of Directors "shall be filled for the unexpired portion of
16		the term" and Directors shall continue to serve until replaced (Charter, Section
17		5(a)(5)(C) and Section 5(a)(4); and
18	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council Commerce Committee and Rules Committee have both
19		reviewed the Chairwoman's nomination in accordance with the Tohono O'odham
20		Nation Board Appointment Guidelines (Resolution No. 03-044).
21	NOW, THER	EFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby confirms
22		the Chairwoman's nomination of Mrs. Beatrice Tashquinth to the Economic
23		Development Authority Board of Directors for a term commencing on the effective
24		date of this Resolution and expiring April 30, 2007, provided that Mrs. Tashquinth
25		shall continue to serve until replaced in accordance with terms of the Charter.
26 27 28 29 30	of <u>MAY, 200</u> AGAINST; <u>-(</u> Section 1 <u>(b)</u> O'Odham N	ng Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 02^{ND} . Day 06 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of $2,081.9$ FOR; 358.9 POT VOTING; and $[01]$ ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono ation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
31 32	Indian Affa Stat. 984).	irs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>06-273</u> (Confirming the Nomination of Mrs. Beatrice Tashquinth to the Economic Development Authority Board of Directors) Page 2 of 2								
1	TØHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
2									
3	Millmh								
4	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman								
5	. /								
6	15 day of May, 2006								
7									
8	ATTEST:								
9	July J. A.								
10	Jum Sy								
11	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
12									
13	<u>03</u> day of <u>May</u> , 2006.								
14									
15	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohone								
16	O'Odham Nation on the 15 day of Way, 2006 at 1025 o'clock, 1.M.								
17	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective								
18	upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours o								
19	submittal.								
20 21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
22	(miles bh								
23	Evelyn B. Juan Manuel, Legislative Chairwoman								
24	- Lvelyn b. Juan Munach, negislative chan woman								
25									
26									
27	() APPROVED on the 15 day of May, 2006								
28	II v								
29	[] DISAPPROVED at 1361 o'clock, 1.M.								
30									
31	Ministry Maria Lauradou Z								
32									
33	vivian juan-saunders, chairwoman								
34	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
35									
36									
37									
38	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of								
39	May , 2006, at 3:13 o'clock, P.M.								
40 41	, 2006, at, o'clock, _f,M.								
41 42									
43	Junia Jaka								
44	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
45									

ACTION: CONFIRMING THE NOMINATION OF MRS. BEATRICE TASHQUINTH TO THE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

AUTHORITY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES ANTONE SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: MAY 02, 2006

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith) FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40 155.40	X X			
CHUKUT KUK 258.7	1. ETHEL GARCIA () 2. VERLON M. JOSE	129.35	X X			
	(David Garcia)	129.35				
GU ACHI 221.6	TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles) CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	x x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	x			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55		X		
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam)	83.70	X			
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70	X			X
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO ()	85.90	x			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X	5		
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50		x		
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50		X		
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	x			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	Х			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS (Isidro Lopez)	93.35	x			
186.7	2. ĎARLENĖ ÁNDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35		x		
	2,440.80	2,081.9	358.9	-0-	[01]	