RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Supporting a "NO" vote on Proposition 200 in the 2006 State Elections)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>06-696</u>

		RESULUTION NO. <u>00-030</u>							
1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Nation recognizes the importance of Tohono O'odham Nation							
2		members participating in the electoral process as citizens of the United States of							
3		America; and							
4	WHEREAS,	Proposition 200 Establishes \$1,000,000 prize for randomly selected voter who votes							
5		in primary or general election; establishes funding source of 20% of unclaimed							
6		lottery prize money; creates Arizona Voter Reward Commission and Fund and							
7		criteria for selecting winners in a public drawing; required commission							
8		sponsorship of nonpartisan voter registration and turnout events; and							
9	WHEREAS,	IEREAS, if approved Proposition 200 will automatically enter every voter in a primary or							
10	general election into a lottery with a first prize of one million dollars or more; and								
11	WHEREAS,	a "yes" vote shall have the effect of establishing a \$1,000,000 lottery for voters who							
12		vote in the primary or general elections that would be funded by a percentage of							
13	unclaimed state lottery prize money and creating the Arizona Voter Reward								
14	Commission and Fund; and								
15	WHEREAS,	this measure disregards the importance of individuals to vote during elections as							
16		a privilege, responsibility and exercise of citizenship.							
17	NOW, THEREI	OW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby supports							
18		a "NO" vote on Proposition 200.							
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	of <u>OCTOBER</u> , AGAINST; <u>733</u> by Section 1 (Tohono O'Od	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman							
32 33		19 day of Octoby, 2006							

RESOLUTION NO. 06-696 (Supporting a "NO" vote on Proposition 200 in the 2006 State Elections) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST:

<u>Hum</u> <u>Juny</u> Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary 13_ day of ______, 2006. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the _____ day of <u>θc+θhγ</u>, 2006 at <u>11'59</u> o'clock, <u>Q</u>...M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman on the <u>20</u> day of <u>OCHIW</u>, 2006 at <u>[]:37</u> o'clock, <u>~</u>.M. I / APPROVED [] DISAPPROVED Mutunikian Sounde VIVIAN IUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u> $\partial \partial$ </u> day of Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: SUPPORTING A "NO" VOTE ON PROPOSITION 200 IN THE 2006 STATE ELECTIONS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN DELMA GARCIA

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA LISTON

DATE: OCTOBER 13, 2006

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL** (Vernon J. Smith)	155.40	x			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	x			
GU ACHI 221.6	 TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles) CYNTHIA E. MANUEL** 	110.80			х	
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL** (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80			X	
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55			х	
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55			х	х
HICKIWAN	1. DELMA GARCIA (Mary E. Sam)	83.70	x			
167.4	(Mary E. Sant) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ** ()	83.70	x			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90			х	
171.8	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90			Х	
SAN LUCY	1. JOHN W. LAWSON, SR.	84.50				Х
169.0	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50				Х
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			х
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45			х	х
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45			Х	
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN**	210.50	x			
421.0	2. EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE SAUNDERS (Isidro Lopez)	93.35	x			
186.7	2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Martinez)	93.35	x			
	2,440.80	1,538.4	-0-	733.4	169.0 [05]	

**PASSED VOTES