### LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Seating of Shirley Molina as Tohono O'odham Legislative Council Representative for the Hickiwan District)

## LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 07-003

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation empowers the Legislative Council to
2	"enact laws and ordinances for conducting and regulating elections" and provides
3	that the "decision of the Tohono O'odham Council in all election matters, including
4	the eligibility and qualifications of candidates, shall be final" (Constitution, Article VI,
5	Section 1(g) and Article X, Section 7); and
6	WHEREAS, on November 28, 2006, Representative Delma Garcia resigned from her office on the
7	Tohono O'odham Legislative Council; and
8	WHEREAS, although the Uniform Election Ordinance does not expressly empower a district
9	council to appoint a Legislative Council representative when the representative's seat
10	becomes vacant and there is no alternate, the district council's power to fill a vacant
11	Legislative Council representative's seat has been recognized as a means of ensuring
12	that each district is fully represented on the Legislative Council; and
13	WHEREAS, because Representative Garcia had no alternate, the Hickiwan District Council has
14	appointed Shirley Molina to succeed to Delma Garcia's office as a Legislative Council
15	representative (Hickiwan District Council Resolution No. 120906-02).
16	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
17	affirms the Hickiwan District Council's appointment of Shirley Molina and, effective
18	January 8, 2007, seats Representative Molina on the Legislative Council to fill the
19	vacancy left by former Representative Delma Garcia; provided that Representative
20	Molina shall hold office for the unexpired term of her predecessor.
21	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $08^{TH}$ . Day of
22	<u>IANUARY, 2007</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,440.80</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u>
23 24	AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[-0-]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
24 25	Article VI, Section 1(g) and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohone O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986, and approved by the Acting Deputy
25 26	adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act
20 27	of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
28	VX JUNC 10, 1753 (30 GUU. 703).
29	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISTATIVE COUNCIL
30	
31	
31 32	
	<u> </u>
33	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
34	day of Jonuary, 2007
35	day of, 2007
	N , I

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 07-003 (Seating of Shirley Molina as Tohono O'odham Legislative Council Representative for the Hickiwan District) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST:

Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

08 day of FAMMANY, 2007.

# ACTION: SEATING OF SHIRLEY MOLINA AS TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE HICKIWAN DISTRICT

### MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

#### SECOND: VICE CHAIRWOMAN CYNTHIA MANUEL

**DATE: JANUARY 08, 2007** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith)(	155.40	х			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	х			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	Х			
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	Х			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	Х			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. (VACANT)	83.70	х			
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70	Х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	X			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	X			
SAN LUCY	1. (VACANT)	84.50	X			
169.0	( ) 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ( )	84.50	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	( ) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	X			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	x			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	x			
421.0	() 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Wilson)	93.35	x			
	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[-0-]	