# LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Seating of Lorraine Eiler as Tohono O'odham Legislative Council Representative for the San Lucy District)

# LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. 07-004

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation empowers the Legislative Council to					
2	"enact laws and ordinances for conducting and regulating elections" and provides					
3	that the "decision of the Tohono O'odham Council in all election matters, including					
4	the eligibility and qualifications of candidates, shall be final" (Constitution, Article VI,					
5	Section 1(g) and Article X, Section 7); and					
6	WHEREAS, on November 20, 2006, Representative John Lawson resigned from his office on the					
7	Tohono O'odham Legislative Council; and					
8	WHEREAS, although the Uniform Election Ordinance does not expressly empower a district					
9	council to appoint a Legislative Council representative when the representative's seat					
10	becomes vacant and there is no alternate, the district council's power to fill a vacant					
11	Legislative Council representative's seat has been recognized as a means of ensuring					
12	that each district is fully represented on the Legislative Council; and					
13	WHEREAS, because Representative Lawson had no alternate, the San Lucy District Council has					
14	appointed Lorraine Eiler to succeed to John Lawson's office as a Legislative Council					
15	representative (San Lucy District Resolution No. SL 12-79-06).					
16	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby					
17	affirms the San Lucy District Council's appointment of Lorraine Eiler as a Legislative					
18	Council representative and, effective January 8, 2007, seats Representative Eiler on the					
19	Legislative Council to fill the vacancy left by former Representative John Lawson;					
20	provided that Representative Eiler shall hold office for the unexpired term of her					
21	predecessor.					
22	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>08<sup>TH</sup>.</u> Day of					
23	IANUARY, 2007 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,964.3</u> FOR; <u>169.0</u>					
24	AGAINST; <u>307.5</u> NOT VOTING; and [-0-] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by					
25	Article VI, Section 1(g) and Article X, Section 7 of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation,					
26	adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy					
27 28	Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act					
20 29	of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
29 30						
31 32						
	- Vor for-					
33	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman					
34	A - Carrier					
35	day of Saulary, 2007					

#### LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. <u>07-004</u> (Seating of Lorraine Eiler as Tohono O'odham Legislative Council Representative for the San Lucy District) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST:

Juni In Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

08 day of <u>Fanuary</u>, 2007.

## ACTION: SEATING OF LORRAINE EILER AS TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE SAN LUCY DISTRICT

# MOVED: COUNCILMAN MICHAEL FLORES

### SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN SANDRA ORTEGA

DATE: JANUARY 08, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith)(	155.40	X			
310.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	х			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80			x	
221.6	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80			x	
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	х			
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X			
HICKIWAN	1. (VACANT)	83.70	х			
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70	Х			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90			x	
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90	х			
SAN LUCY	1. (VACANT)	84.50		x		
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50		x		
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	( ) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	х			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	x			
421.0	( ) 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Isidro Lopez)	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Wilson)	93.35	x			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	1,964.3	169.0	307.5	[-0-]