RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Reaffirming Appointment of Gloria Ramirez to the NCAI Workgroup on Reporting, Accountability and Auditing and Appointing Marlene Saraficio as the Nation's Alternate)

RESOLUTION NO. 07-091

1	WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) has formed four national
2	workgroups comprised of tribal leaders to advise and work with the Bureau of Indian
3	Affairs (BIA) on issues affecting Indians nationwide; and
4	WHEREAS, NCAI encourages tribal leaders to continue their strong participation and to have a
5	voice on important national issues and the Tohono O'odham Nation wishes to do the
6	same; and
7	WHEREAS, there is a workgroup established by NCAI on Reporting, Accountability and Auditing
8	which will advise the BIA on how to develop a consistence reporting format which is
9	needed in order to identify unmet need, justify increases and show Congress
10	accountability in the use of funds; and
11	WHEREAS, the Legislative Council has previously appointed Representative Gloria Ramirez,
12	member of the Budget and Finance Committee for appointment to the national
13	workgroup representing the Tohono O'odham Nation (Resolution No. 2000-026).
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby
15	reaffirm the appointment of Representative Gloria Ramirez, member of the Tohono
16	O'odham Nation Legislative Council Budget and Finance Committee as the Tohono
17	O'odham Nation's representative on the NCAI Reporting, Accountability and Auditing
18	Workgroup, and appoints Representative Marlene Saraficio as Representative
19	Ramirez's alternate; provided that (1) these appointments shall supercede any prior
20	NCAI Reporting, Accountability and Auditing Workgroup appointments and (2) either
21	appointment reflected in this Resolution shall expire if the appointee vacates her
22	elected office for any reason.
23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>08TH</u> . Day of <u>FEBRUARY, 2007</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,440.80</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(<u>f)and(j)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
31	

- 32
- 33
- 33 34

RESOLUTION NO. 07-091 (Reaffirming Appointment of Gloria Ramirez to the NCAI Workgroup on Reporting, Accountability and Auditing and Appointing Marlene Saraficio as the Nation's Alternate) Page 2 of 2 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 15 day of February, 2007 ATTEST: Lucille Lopez, Acting/Jegislative Secretary 08 day of <u>Hommy</u>, 2007. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the 15 day of <u>February</u>, 2007 at 12:03 o'clock, $\ell_{\rm M.}$, pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman on the <u>20</u> day of <u>ullman</u>, 2007 V APPROVED at $9:4^{\circ}$ o'clock, α /M. **[] DISAPPROVED** VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\frac{\partial l}{\partial t}$ day of Summe John Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: REAFFIRMING APPOINTMENT OF GLORIA RAMIREZ TO THE NCAI WORKGROUP ON REPORTING, ACCOUNTABILITY AND AUDITING AND APPOINTING MARLENE SARAFICIO AS THE NATION'S ALTERNATE

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES G. ANTONE

DATE: FEBRUARY 08, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENI
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	x			
310.8	(Vernon J. Smith) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	x			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	х			
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	x			
221.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	х			
193.1	() 2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	X			x
HICKIWAN	1. SHIRLEY SANTOS-MOLINA	83.70	x			x
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70	X			
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	x		:	x
171.8	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	84.50	x			
169.0	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			
193.8	() 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	x			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	x			
421.0	() 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	93.35	x			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Wilson)	93.35	x			
	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,440.80	-0-	-0-	[03]