RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Gabriel F. Encinas to the Enrollment Committee)

RESOLUTION NO. 07-124

1	WHEREAS,	the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to "provide for,
2		appoint, or provide for the appointment of, and prescribe the duties and powers of
3		committees, boards, officers and agents (Article VI, Section 1(b) of the Constitution of
4		the Tohono O'odham Nation); and
5	WHEREAS,	the Legislative Council has enacted and subsequently amended Ordinance No. 05-81,
6		the "Enrollment Ordinance," which established an Enrollment Committee to oversee
7		enrollment into membership in the Tohono O'odham Nation; and
8	WHEREAS,	the Enrollment Ordinance provides that the Enrollment Committee "shall be
9		composed of five members of the Tohono O'odham Nation who are bilingual in the
10		O'odham and English languages" and whose members "shall be appointed by the
11		Chairman of the Nation, subject to the approval by the Tohono O'odham Legislative
12		Council" (Enrollment Ordinance, Article II, Section 1.A. and 1.B.); and
13	WHEREAS,	Committee members "shall be appointed for terms of three years or until their
14		successors are appointed. The appointments of the five members shall be staggered
15		so that no more than two members shall be appointed or reappointed each
16		year."(Enrollment Ordinance, Article II, Section 1.C.); and
17	WHEREAS,	subject to the approval by the Legislative Council, the Chairwoman of the Tohono
18		O'odham Nation has appointed Mr. Gabriel F. Encinas to the Enrollment Committee
19		to replace Ms Carmelita Mattias whose term ended on January 1, 2006; but who
20		continues to serve until his/her successor is appointed; and
21	WHEREAS,	if approved, Mr. Gabriel F. Encinas would serve on the Enrollment Committee for a
22		three-year term commencing on January 1, 2006 and ending January 1, 2009, provided
23		that he would continue to serve until replaced by a successor who is appointed in
24		accordance with the Enrollment Ordinance.
25	NOW, THEF	REFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby approves
26		the appointment of Mr. Gabriel F. Encinas to the Enrollment Committee for a three-
27		year term commencing on January 1, 2006 and ending January 1, 2009 provided that
28		he shall continue to serve until replaced by a successor who has been appointed in
29		accordance with the Enrollment Ordinance.

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>07-124</u> (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Gabriel F. Encinas to the Enrollment Committee) Page 2 of 3							
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 05^{TH} . Day of <u>MARCH, 2007</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,169.6</u> FOR; <u>177.85</u> GAINST; <u>93.35</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[04]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1(<u>b</u>) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono D'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).							
9	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
10								
11	$C \cap C \setminus A$							
12								
13 14	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman							
14	12 day of March, 2007							
16								
17	ATTEST:							
18								
19	the is it h							
20	Shillin Sty							
21	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary							
22 23	05 day of, 2007.							
23 24	day of, 2007.							
25	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohono							
26	O'Odham Nation on the 12 day of $Maych$, 2007 at 1125 o'clock,							
27	<u>A</u> .M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become							
28	effective upon her approval or upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours							
29	of submittal.							
30								
31	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
32								
33	XUL M L IN							
34 35	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman							
35 36	v CHOH MI. JUSC, LEGISIAUVE CHAH MAH							
37								
38								
39	[1] APPROVED on the 14 day of March , 2007							
40								
41	[] DISAPPROVED at <u>10:52</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.							
42	$n/\cdots p$							
43 44	MIAN MAN Saundors							
44 45	VIVIAN JUAN SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN							
45 46	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
40 47								
- •								

	RESOLUTION NO. 07-124 (Approximates Approximates Marcolated B. R. S.							
	(Approving the Appointment of Mr. Gabriel F. Encinas to the Enrollment Committee) Page 3 of 3							
1	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the _/// day of							
2 3	MMM , 2007, at <u>458</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.							
4								
5 6	Smin Jopan							
7	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary							
8								
9								
10								
11								
12								
13								
14								
15								
16								
17								
18								
19								
20								
21								
22 23								
23 24								
25								
23 26								
20 27								
28								
29								
30								
31								
32								
33								
34								
35								
36								
37								
38								
39								
40								
41 42								
42 43								
43 44								
45 46								

ABSENT

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. GABRIEL F. ENCINAS TO THE ENROLLMENT COMMITTEE

COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON **MOVED:**

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN LORRAINE EILER

AGAINST

NOT VOTING

DATE: MARCH 05, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith)(155.40	X
510.8	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	x
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x
258.7	2. VERLON M. JOSE	129 35	x

	TOTAL	2,440.80	2,169.6	177.85	93.35	[04]
SIF OIDAK 186.7	 WAVALENE ROMERO (Isidro Lopez) DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Wilson) 	93.35 93.35		X	x	
421.0	() 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	X			
SELLS	() 1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	x			
146.9	() 2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	x			
193.8	() 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	х			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	x			x
169.0	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50		X		
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	84.50	x			
171.8	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90	х			x
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	x			
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70	x			x
HICKIWAN	1. SHIRLEY SANTOS-MOLINA	83.70	х			
193.1	() 2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55	x			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55	x			
221.6	(Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles)	110.80	x			
258.7	() 2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35	х			x
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	129.35	x			
310.8	(Vernon J. Smith)(2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	х			
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	155.40	x			