LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Legislative Council Session Broadcasts Preceding 2007 General Election)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. <u>07-235</u>

1	WHEREAS, the Legislative Council is vested with the power "to establish rules and procedures to
2	regulate all meetings of the Tohono O'odham Council, standing committees, boards
3	and special committees." (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI,
4	Section 1(a)); and
5	WHEREAS, the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council do not address
6	whether Council sessions will be broadcast on the Nation's radio station, KOHN 91.9
7	FM; and
8	WHEREAS, in order to avoid providing an undue advantage to candidates for public office who
9	may make presentations during Council sessions, it is in the Nation's best interest not
10	to broadcast Legislative Council sessions in the three weeks preceding the 2007
11	general election.
12	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that Legislative
13	Council sessions shall not be broadcast on KOHN 91.9 FM during the three weeks
14	preceding the May 26, 2007 general election.
15 16 17 18 19 20 21	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>07TH</u> . Day of <u>MAY, 2007</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,566.7</u> FOR; <u>336.4</u> AGAINST; <u>537.7</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[03]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section 1(a) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
23	, ,
24	α α α α
25	Verlow M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
26 27	veriotym. Jose, Legislative Chairman
28	14 day of May, 2007
29	
30	ATTEST:
31	
32	
33	Sum John
34	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
35 36 37	<u>May of May</u> , 2007.

ACTION: LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL SESSION BROADCASTS PRECEDING 2007 GENERAL ELECTION

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES CONDE

DATE: MAY 07, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith)	155.40	X			
J10.0	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris))	155.40	X			
CHUKUT KUK 258.7	1. ETHEL GARCIA **	129.35			x	
230.1	2. VERLON M. JOSE (David Garcia)	129.35			X	
GU ACHI 221.6	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	110.80	х			
221.0	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80	X			
GU VO	1. RAYMOND VICTOR	96.55			х	
193.1	2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55			Х	X
HICKIWAN	1. SHIRLEY SANTOS-MOLINA	83.70		x		
167.4	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	83.70		Х		Х
PISINEMO	1. BARBARA SALVICIO	85.90	х			
171.8	2. GERALD FAYUANT	85.90			X	
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	84.50		х		
169.0	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	84.50		Х		
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	96.90	х			
193.8	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	96.90	х			X
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	73.45	х			
146.9	2. PHYLLIS JUAN	73.45	X			
SELLS	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN	210.50	х			
421.0	() 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL (Kimberly Listo)	210.50	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Isidro Lopez)	93.35	X			
186.7	(Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Wilson)	93.35	X			
	2,440.80	1,566.7	336.4	537.7	[03]	