RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Repayment of Unauthorized Annual Leave Payouts to Elected Officials)

RESOLUTION NO. 07-290

1	WHEREAS,	on January 10, 1979, pursuant to Resolution No. 5-79, the Papago Tribal Council
2		adopted the "Personnel Policies and Procedures Manual of the Papago Tribe of
3		Arizona" (the "Papago Tribe Personnel Manual") which applied to all employees of the
4		Papago Tribe with the exception of: (1) the Chairman and Vice-Chairman as elected
5		officials; (2) Tribal Judges appointed or elected; (3) Tribal attorney and others on a
6		consultant basis; (4) those employed by private businesses on reservation land, such
7		as construction companies, trading posts, etc.; and
8	WHEREAS,	those persons excepted from the Papago Tribe Personnel Manual were not entitled to
9		annual leave or any of the other benefits bestowed by the personnel manual, and
10		therefore were also not entitled to a cash payout of accumulated annual leave which
11		other covered employees may have been entitled to; and
12	WHEREAS,	effective on March 6, 1986, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation replaced
13		the Constitution and By-laws of the Papago Tribe, Arizona, which had been in effect
14		since January 6, 1937, and created an Executive Branch, a Legislative Branch, and a
15		Judicial Branch; and
16	WHEREAS,	on April 19, 1999, pursuant to Executive Order No. 99-01, the Chairman of the Nation
17		adopted the Personnel Policies Manual for the Executive Branch of the Tohono
18		O'odham Nation (the "Executive Branch Personnel Manual"), which covered all
19		employees of the Executive Branch except for the Chairman and Vice-Chairman, and
20		stated: "The Chairman and Vice-Chairman, as elected officials, are considered to be
21		serving in policy exempt positions"; and
22	WHEREAS,	by being exempt from the Executive Branch Personnel Manual, the Chairman and
23		Vice-Chairman were not entitled to annual leave or any of the other benefits bestowed
24		by the personnel manual, and therefore were also not entitled to a cash payout of
25		accumulated annual leave which other covered employees may have been entitled to;
26		and
27	WHEREAS,	in an audit report dated September 30, 2003, the Nation's auditors called attention to
28		annual leave payments to former Chairman Edward Manual and former Vice-

RESOLUTION NO. <u>07-290</u> (Repayment of Unauthorized Annual Leave Payouts to Elected Officials) Page 2 of 3

1	Chairman Henry Ramon in May 2003 which were inconsistent with the Executive
2	Branch Personnel Manual; and
3	WHEREAS, upon further review of the Nation's records, it was found that annual leave payouts
4	had been paid to certain Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the Papago Tribe and the
5	Tohono O'odham Nation from 1973 until 2003, but not to all such officials; and
6	WHEREAS, in a memorandum dated September 15, 2006, the Office of Attorney General reached
7	the conclusion that all such annual leave payouts to Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of
8	the Papago Tribe and the Tohono O'odham Nation since January 10, 1079, were
9	improper because these elected officials were exempt from the personnel manual and
10	were not entitled to accrue annual leave or to be paid out for annual leave; and
11	WHEREAS, according to the Nation's records, four former Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of the
12	Papago Tribe and the Tohono O'odham Nation as identified in the attached Elected
13	Officials Annual Leave Payout List have received documented unauthorized annual
14	leave payouts.
15	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby calls
16	upon all former elected officials of the Papago Tribe and the Tohono O'odham Nation
17	who received annual leave payouts and are listed in the attached Elected Officials
18	Annual Leave Payout List to enter into written agreements with the Office of the
19	Treasurer to repay such amounts in full, such agreements to be signed within 60 days
20	of the effective date of this resolution.
21	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council directs the Office of the
22	Treasurer to (1) forward this resolution to the former elected officials who received
23	annual leave payouts and are listed in the attached Elected Officials Annual Leave
24	Payout List and (2) provide a written report to the Legislative Council during the
25	August 2007 general session on the status of such repayments.
26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>14TH</u> . Day of <u>MAY</u> , <u>2007</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,724.75</u> FOR; <u>221.6</u> AGAINST; <u>494.45</u> NOT VOTING; and [<u>02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (<u>d</u>) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).

Page 3 of 3	nnual Leave Payouts to Elected Officials)							
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
	CUILIN							
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman							
	<u> </u>							
ATTEST:	V							
Juni John								
Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislat	ive Secretary							
14 day of May, 2007.								
Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairwoman of the Tohom O'Odham Nation on the $//e$ day of $//le //e$, 2007 at 3.02 o'cloc								
.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will becom								
	r upon her failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48							
of submittal.								
	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL							
	aup 1 . 8							
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman							
	<i>l</i>							
APPROVED	on the <u></u> day of <u></u> , 2007							
	at							
] DISAPPROVED	at $\underline{-}, \underline{-}, \underline$							
	Marian hand handbar							
	VIVIAN JUAN-SAUNDERS, CHAIRWOMAN							
	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION							
Returned to the Legislative So	ecretary on the <u>/7</u> day of							
, 2007, a	at <u>8:47</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.							
SIMM Star								

ACTION: REPAYMENT OF UNAUTHORIZED ANNUAL LEAVE PAYOUTS TO ELECTED OFFICIALS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN GLORIA RAMIREZ

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON

DATE: MAY 14, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 310.8	 FRANCES MIGUEL (Vernon J. Smith) FRANCES G. ANTONE (New York Content of Content of	155.40 155.40	x x			
CHUKUT KUK 258.7	(Lucilda J. Valenzuela (Norris)) 1. ETHEL GARCIA () 2. VERLON M. JOSE	129.35	x x			x
GU ACHI 221.6	(David Garcia) 1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Jonas Robles) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	129.35 110.80		x		
	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL (Louis L. Johnson)	110.80		X		
GU VO 193.1	1. RAYMOND VICTOR () 2. MICHAEL FLORES (Grace Manuel)	96.55 96.55	X X			
HICKIWAN 167.4	1. SHIRLEY SANTOS-MOLINA () 2. SANDRA ORTEGA** ()	83.70 83.70	x x			
PISINEMO 171.8	1. BARBARA SALVICIO () 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	85.90 85.90	x x			
SAN LUCY 169.0	1. LORRAINE EILER () 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	84.50 84.50	x x			
SAN XAVIER 193.8	 FELICIA NUÑEZ () OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON	96.90 96.90	x x			
SCHUK TOAK 146.9	1. FRANCES B. CONDE () 2. PHYLLIS JUAN ()	73.45 73.45	х		x	
SELLS 421.0	1. MARLENE SARAFICIO-JUAN () 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ** (Kimberly Listo)	210.50 210.50			x x	
SIF OIDAK 186.7	1. WAVALENE ROMERO (Isidro Lopez) 2. DARLENE ANDREW (Rita Wilson)	93.35 93.35	x x			x
TOTAL		2,440.80	1,724.75	221.6	494.45	[02

**PASSED VOTES