LEGISLATIVE ORDER OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Certifying Election of Verlon M. Jose as Legislative Council Chairman)

LEGISLATIVE ORDER NO. <u>07-321</u>

1	WHEREAS, during the June 11, 2007 general session, the Legislative Council did conduct an
2	election for the office of the legislative chairperson in accordance with Article XII,
3	Section 2 of the Legislative Rules of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council; and
4	WHEREAS, each representative did cast their vote for one of the candidates nominated for said
5	office with results as follows: Representative Verlon M. Jose received 1,393.5 votes;
6	Representative Cynthia Manuel received 1,041.4 votes; Representative Chester Antone
7	received 99.60 votes; and
8	WHEREAS, Representative Verlon M. Jose having received a majority of the votes cast was
9	declared Legislative Chairman-elect in accordance with Legislative Rules, Article XII,
10	Section 2.C.
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDERED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it
12	does hereby certify the election of Representative Verlon M. Jose as Chairman of the
13	Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
14	The foregoing Order was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $11^{ m TH}$. Day of
15	IUNE, 2007 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,534.5</u> FOR; <u>-0</u> - AGAINST; <u>-0-</u>
16	NOT VOTING; and [-0-] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Article VI, Section
17	1(a) of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation
18	on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs
19	(Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
20	
21	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
22	
23	\sim · · · \sim ·
24	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
25	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
26	
27	20 day of, 2007
28	120
29	ATTEST:
30	
31	. /
32	Jum John
33	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
34	
35	
36	
37	
	11

ACTION: CERTIFYING ELECTION OF VERLON M. JOSE AS LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL CHAIRMAN

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES CONDE

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE:

JUNE 11, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	158.45	X			
316.9	(Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE ()	158.45	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	113.95	X			
227.9	(Louis L. Johnson) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ()	113.95	X			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	X			
199.2	2. MICHAEL FLORES	99.60	X			
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	X			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00	X			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	x			
182.4	2. GERALD FAYUANT	91.20	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	X			
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	90.55	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (Adam P. Andrews)	98.25	X			
196.5	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	X		E	
154.6	2. (VACANT)	77.30	X			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	X			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	X			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	X			
	TOTAL	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[-0-]