RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 64th Annual Session)

RESOLUTION NO. 07-704

1	WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians ("NCAI") will hold its 64th Annual Session
2	in Denver, Colorado on November 11-16, 2007; and
3	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation is a long-time member in good standing with the
4	National Congress of American Indians; and
5	WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to renew its membership in the
6	National Congress of American Indians.
7	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that
8	it hereby authorizes the following persons to serve as the Tohono O'odham Nation's
9	delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 64th Annual Session:
10	Ned Norris, Jr., Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation
11	Verlon Jose, Legislative Council Chairperson
12	Timothy Joaquin, Legislative Council Representative
13	Wavalene Romero, Legislative Council Representative
14	Olivia Liston, Legislative Council Representative
15	Gloria Ramirez, Legislative Council Representative
16	Lorraine Eiler, Legislative Council Representative
17	Michael Flores, Legislative Council Representative
18	Phyllis Cachora, Legislative Council Representative
19	Chester Antone, Legislative Council Representative
20	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby authorizes
21	Ned Norris, Jr., Chairman as the Tohono O'odham Nation's voting delegate and
22	Legislative Council Chairperson Verlon Jose to serve as alternate voting delegate to
23	the National Congress of American Indians 64th Annual Session.
24	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>23RD.</u> Day
25	of <u>OCTOBER, 2007</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,534.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u>
26	AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and [03] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
27 28	Section 1 <u>(f)</u> of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -
29	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48
30	Stat. 984).
31	
32	
33	

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>07-704</u> (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians 64th Annual Session) Page 2 of 2
1	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
2	
3	
4	Leven lose
5	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
6	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
7	day of October, 2007
8	
9	
10	ATTEST:
11	
12	Variation of A. A.
13	Shirth Strain St
14	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
15 16	33 day of Ochho, 2007.
17	
18	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham
19	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the day of, 2007 at o'clock,, .M.,
20	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
21	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
22	submittal.
23	
24	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
25	
26	Vaylor love
27 28	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
20 29	verion w. Jose, Legislative Chairman
30	
31	Λ_{i}
	[X] APPROVED on the 29 day of October, 2007
33	1 1
34	[] DISAPPROVED at /// o'clock, .M.
35	\mathcal{N}
36	
37	- // - // \\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \
38	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
39	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
40	
41 42	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 2^{g} day of
43	
44	<u> </u>
45	
46	June, A. h
47	Jonne Japan
48	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN

INDIANS 64TH ANNUAL SESSION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN GLORIA RAMIREZ

DATE:

OCTOBER 23, 2007

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	х			
316.9	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	158.45	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	X			
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	X			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	X			
227.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. MICHAEL FLORES	99.60	X			X
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00	Х			X
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	X			
182.4	2. GERALD FAYUANT	91.20	X			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	X			
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	90.55	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	98.25	x			
196.5	(Adam P. Andrews) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	X			X
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	x			
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	X			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	X			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	X			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	X			
	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[03]	