RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approval of the FY 2008 Tohono O'odham Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Community Health - Department of Justice, Office of Violence Against Indian Women Discretionary Grant to Indian Tribal Governments)

RESOLUTION NO. 08-020

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Health and Human Services has been
2	administering a STOP Violence Against Indian Women Discretionary Grant to plan
3	coordinated domestic violence services; and
4	WHEREAS, the Department of Health and Human Services, the Tohono O'odham Police
5	Department, the Tohono O'odham Judicial Branch, the Tohono O'odham Victim
6	Witness Program of the Prosecutor's Office, and the Brewster Center for Domestic
7	Violence Services, Inc. have been collaborating to plan coordinated domestic violence
8	services; and
9	WHEREAS,the Nation has received a STOP Violence Against Indian Women Discretionary Grant
10	to provide crisis intervention services to victims of domestic violence for a three year
11	period from October 1, 2007 – September 30, 2010 for a total amount of \$544,521.00.
12	NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT: that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby:
13	1. Approves the 12-month budget totaling \$181,507.00 that is attached.
14	2. Authorizes the Nation to incur expenditures upon approval of this resolution from
15	October 1, 2007 through September 30, 2008, retroactive to October 1, 2007.
16	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED: by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that the Tohono O'odham
17	Nation officials, to wit: the Chairman and Vice Chairman and any designated official
18	are hereby authorized to negotiate and execute the grant, provided however, that any
19	amendments affecting the funds or funding levels of the grant shall be submitted for
20	further prior approval by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 09^{TH} . Day of <u>IANUARY</u> , 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,362.5 FOR; -0- AGAINST; -0- NOT VOTING; and 172.0 [08] ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 (d)(2) & (f) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984). TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
28 29	
30 31	Felicia Runey for
32	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
33 34	1 day of Jenuary, 2008
32 33	<u>Jelicie Munen for</u> Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman <u>14 May of Jenuary</u> , 2008

RESOLUTION NO. 08-020 (Approval of the FY 2008 Tohono O'odham Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Community Health - Department of Justice, Office of Violence Against Indian Women Discretionary Grant to Indian Tribal Governments) Page 2 of 2 ATTEST: Yunn Jop Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary 19 day of _____, 2008. Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the $\cancel{44}$ day of $\cancel{6}$ Multiply, 2008 at $\cancel{3}$ o'clock, $\cancel{6}$.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VH of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal. **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** Mener Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman on the <u>K</u> day of <u>funny</u> at <u>//.'35</u> o'clock, <u>h</u>.M. [X] APPROVED . 2008 **[] DISAPPROVED** NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $-\frac{14}{2}$ day of *Μμμηγ______*, 2008, at <u>18:10</u> o'clock, <u>β__</u>.Μ. ____ Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

ACTION: APPROVAL OF THE FY 2008 TOHONO O'ODHAM DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES, DIVISION OF COMMUNITY HEALTH - DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, OFFICE OF VIOLENCE AGAINST INDIAN WOMEN DISCRETIONARY GRANT TO INDIAN TRIBAL GOVERNMENTS

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN EVELYN JUAN MANUEL

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON

DATE: JANUARY 09, 2008

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 316.9	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	x			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Absent) (Vernon Smith) (Present)	158.45	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			x
264.8	() 2. VERLON M. JOSE ()	132.40	х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	113.95	x			
227.9	(Louis L. Johnson) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ()	113.95	x			x
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	() 2. MICHAEL FLORES ()	99.60	х			x
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00				x
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00				x
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	x			
182.4	() 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	91.20	x			x
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	x			x
181.1	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	90.55	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	98.25	x			
196.5	(Adam P. Andrews) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	x			
154.6	(Predenck Jose) 2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	x			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	х			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	x			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	x			x
	2,534.5	2,362.5	-0-	-0-	172.0 [08]	