## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL (Approving Intergovernmental Agreement with Arizona Department of Public Safety)

RESOLUTION NO. <u>08-424</u>

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation (Nation) employs certified police officers to conduct
2	criminal investigations; and
3	WHEREAS, the conducting such investigations often requires forensic science examinations; and
4	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation Police Department(TONPD) does not currently employ
5	a forensic laboratory criminalist, and for that reason the Nation's forensic science
6	examination must be conducted by another agency; and
7	WHEREAS, the Arizona Department of Public Safety operates such a laboratory and employs a
8	forensic criminalist; and
9	WHEREAS, the Nation and the Arizona Department of Public Safety have negotiated an
10	Intergovernmental Agreement providing that the Nation can pay for services from the
11	Arizona Department of Public Safety Crime Laboratory; and
12	WHEREAS, the Domestic Affairs Committee has reviewed the Intergovernmental Agreement and
13	recommends approval.
14	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it approves
15	the Intergovernmental Agreement between the Tohono O'odham Nation and the
16	Arizona Department of Public safety substantially in the form attached hereto, and
17	${\bf authorizes\ the\ Chairman\ of\ the\ Nation\ to\ execute\ the\ Intergovernmental\ Agreement.}$
18	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby authorizes the
19	Chairman and any designated official to expend and administer the budget as
20	attached, provided that any amendments affecting the funds or funding level shall be
21	submitted for further prior approval by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
22 23	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $07^{TH}$ . Day of <u>IULY, 2008</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,534.5</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u> AGAINST;
24	<u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[02]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 1 <u>(f)</u> of
25	Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham
26	Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs
27	(Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
28	TOHONO OLODHAM I POLCI ATIME COLINOT
29	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
30	Felicia Munes for
31	
32	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman

33 34

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>08-424</u> (Approving Intergovernmental Agreement with Arizona Department of Public Safety) Page 2 of 2
1 2	ATTEST:
3	Guin Sofz
5	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
6	
7	17 day of <u>Fuly</u> , 2008.
8 9	
9 10	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham  Nation on the
11	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
12	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
13	submittal.
14	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
15	
16	$\bigcap_{i \in \mathcal{I}} \mathcal{I}_i = \bigcap_{i \in \mathcal{I}} \mathcal{I}_i$
17	Felicia Nunez for
18	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman $ u$
19	
20	
21	IN APPROVED on the 4 day of July , 2008
22 23	IX APPROVED on the 14 day of July , 2008
24	[ ] DISAPPROVED at <u>5:47</u> o'clock, <u>P</u> .M.
25 <sub>1</sub>	$\sim$ $\wedge$ $\wedge$
26 27	( ) Vice cyainman
28	NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
29	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
30	
31	
32	
33	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\underline{/5}$ day of
34	February 8 EA
35	July , 2008, at 8:59 o'clock, A.M.  Sum Sifing
36 27	
37 38	Guya Fire
39	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
40	Lucine Hopel, noting Legislative occiously
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	
46 47	
71	d .

ACTION: APPROVING INTERGOVERNMENTAL AGREEMENT WITH ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN ETHEL GARCIA

DATE:

**JULY 07, 2008** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL	158.45	x			
316.9	(Roberta Harvey) 2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	158.45	X			_
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			_
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	113.95	X		<u> </u>	
227.9	(Louis L. Johnson) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ( )	113.95	х			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	x			x
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	х			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00	x		Ŀ	
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	х			
182.4	(Tony Murrietta) 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	91.20	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	x			
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	90.55	x			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	98.25	X			
196.5	(Adam P. Andrews) 2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	x			x
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	77.30	х			
154.6	(Frederick Jose) 2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	<b>x</b>			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	X			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	x			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	X			
	TOTAL	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[02]

<sup>\*\*</sup>PASSED VOTES