## **RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Jonathan Jantzen as Attorney General of the Tohono O'odham Nation)

# RESOLUTION NO. 08-534

1	WHEREAS,the "Statute Creating the Office of Attorney General of the Tohono O'odham Nation,"
2	was adopted on October 1, 1989 by Resolution No. 326-89, and was amended on
3	November 6, 1991 by Resolution No. 91-500. (OAG Statute); and
4	WHEREAS, the OAG Statute provides in part, that the Attorney General shall be appointed by the
5	Chairman of the Nation, from among a group of no fewer than three persons qualified
6	for the position, nominated by the Domestic Affairs Committee of the Legislative
7	Council. The appointment shall become effective upon its approval by a majority of
8	the Legislative Council; and
9	WHEREAS, On May 13, 2008 the Domestic Affairs Committee forwarded the names of four persons
10	qualified for the position of Attorney General to the Chairman of the Nation; and
11	WHEREAS, the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation, interviewed the candidates and selected
12	Mr. Jonathan Jantzen as the appointee for Attorney General of the Tohono O'odham
13	Nation; and
14	WHEREAS, Mr. Jonathan Jantzen is qualified to assume the position of Attorney General; and
15	WHEREAS, Mr. Jonathan Jantzen has accepted the appointment and the position upon approval
16	of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.
17	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby approves
18	the appointment of Mr. Jonathan Jantzen as Attorney General of the Tohono O'odham
19	Nation to serve in accordance with the Statute Creating the Office of Attorney General.
20	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the $15^{TH}$ . Day
21	of <u>SEPTEMBER</u> , 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>2,353.4</u> FOR; <u>-0-</u>
22	AGAINST; <u>181.1</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[04]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by
23	Section 1 (b) and 2 (e) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by
24	the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant
25 26	Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).
27	10, 1 <i>33</i> 7 (70 5141, 307),
28	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
29	
30	
31	Voervan Last
32	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
33	
34	16 day of September, 2008
35	
36	

#### **RESOLUTION NO. 08-534** (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Jonathan Jantzen as Attorney General of the Tohono O'odham Nation) Page 2 of 2

ATTEST:

Juin Jafy Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

15 day of Alptum, 2008.

Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the \_\_\_\_\_ day of <u>September</u>, 2008 at <u>\_\_\_\_\_</u> o'clock,\_\_\_\_\_.M., pursuant to the provisions of Section'5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of submittal.

**TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 

pse.

Verlon M. Jose Legislative Chairman

[V] APPROVED

**] DISAPPROVED** 

on the  $\underline{//2}$  day of  $\underline{//2}$  at  $\underline{7.1/2}$  o'clock,  $\underline{/}$ .M. .2008

NED NORRIS, R., CHAIRMAN **TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION** 

Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the 17 day of

Minh\_\_\_\_\_, 2008, at \_\_\_\_\_\_ o'clock, <u>A\_\_</u>.M.

Juni Jages Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary

# ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. JONATHAN JANTZEN AS ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION

### MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES CONDE

### SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS CACHORA

DATE: SEPTEMBER 15, 2008

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSEN
BABOQUIVARI	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Absent)	158.45	x			
316.9	<ul><li>(Roberta Harvey) (Present)</li><li>2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)</li></ul>	158.45	x			x
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			
264.8	( ) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ( )	132.40	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN	113.95	x			
227.9	(Louis L. Johnson) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ( )	113.95	x			
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	x			
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00	x			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	x			
182.4	(Tony Murrietta) 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	91.20	х			x
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55			x	x
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	90.55			x	
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	98.25	x			х
196.5	<ul><li>(Adam P. Andrews)</li><li>2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON</li><li>(Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)</li></ul>	98.25	х			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE	77.30	x			
154.6	(Frederick Jose) 2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	x			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	х			
444.7	( ) 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL ( )	222.35	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	x			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	97.20	Х			
	TOTAL	2,534.5	2,353.4	-0-	181.1	[04]