RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2008 65th Annual Session)

RESOLUTION NO. 08-564

1	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council is vested with the power to consult with the
2	federal government and other Indian tribes on all matters within the Council's
3	authority (Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation, Article VI, Section 1(f)); and
4	WHEREAS, the National Congress of American Indians ("NCAI") will hold its 2008 65 th Annual
5	Session in Phoenix, Arizona from October 19-24, 2008; and
6	WHEREAS, the Tohono O'odham Nation has worked closely with the NCAI and with Indian tribes
7	across the United States to address numerous national issues of importance to Indian
8	people; and
9	WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the Tohono O'odham Nation to continue its national-level
10	involvement in these issues by participating in the NCAI 2008 Annual Session.
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council that it hereby
12	authorizes the following representatives to attend and serve as the Tohono O'odham
13	Nation's delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2008 Annual
14	Session:
15	Tohono O'odham Nation Chairman Ned Norris, Jr., Voting Delegate
16	Tohono O'odham Nation Vice-Chairman Isidro Lopez, Alternate Voting Delegate
17	Legislative Council Chairman Verlon Jose, Alternate Voting Delegate
18	Councilman Timothy Joaquin
19	Councilwoman Ethel Garcia
20	Councilwoman Frances Conde
21	Councilman Chester Antone
22	Councilwoman Frances Miguel
23	Councilman Gerald Fayuant
24	Councilwoman Gloria Ramirez
25	Councilwoman Mary Lopez
26	Councilwoman Wavalene Romero
27	Councilwoman Olivia Villegas-Liston
28	Councilwoman Kimberly Listo
29	• Councilwoman Phyllis Cachora
30	Councilwoman Lorraine Eiler
31	Councilwoman Cynthia Manuel
32	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council hereby delegates authority
33	to Chairman Ned Norris, Jr. to act as the Tohono O'odham Nation's voting delegate,
34	and Tohono O'odham Nation Vice-Chairman Isidro Lopez and Tohono O'odham

RESOLUTION NO. 08-564 (Authorizing Tohono O'odham Nation Delegation to the National Congress of American Indians' 2008 65th Annual Session) Page 2 of 3 1 Legislative Council Chairman Verlon Jose to act as the Nation's alternate voting 2 delegates to the National Congress of American Indians' 2008 Annual Session. 3 The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the 23RD. Day 4 of SEPTEMBER, 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,534.5 FOR; -0-5 AGAINST;-0-NOT VOTING; and [06]ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 6 1 (f) of Article VI of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono 7 O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -8 Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 9 Stat. 984). 10 11 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 12 13 <u>Felicia Muntz, for</u> Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman 14 15 16 29th day of Sept., 2008 17 18 19 ATTEST: 20 21 Junio Jafra. Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary 22 23 24 23 day of Alptinta , 2008. 25 26 Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham Nation on the ______ day of _______, 2008 at __/2 - / δ o'clock, __/2 ...M., pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective 27 28 29 upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of 30 31 submittal. 32 **TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL** 33 34 Felicia nuney 35 Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairm 36 37 38 39 on the <u>30</u> day of <u>September</u>, 2008 I XI APPROVED 40 41 42 **[] DISAPPROVED** at 0 0 o'clock, <u>A</u>.M. 43 44 45 NED NORRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN 46 TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION 47 VICE CHAINMAN

	ge 3 of 3					
Re	sturned to the Legislative Secretary on the <u>$\mathcal{3}$</u> day of					
;	Autur , 2008, at 10:55 o'clock, 1M.					
Alpturb , 2008, at <u>10:55</u> o'clock, <u>1</u> .M.						
Lu	Cille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary					

ACTION: AUTHORIZING TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DELEGATION TO THE NATIONAL CONGRESS OF AMERICAN INDIANS' 2008 65TH ANNUAL SESSION

MOVED: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN FRANCES MIGUEL

DATE: SEPTEMBER 23, 2008

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 316.9	1. FRANCES MIGUEL (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	X			
	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	158.45	X			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			x
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	x			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	х			
227.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	х			x
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	х			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	х			х
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			x
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00	х			
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	x			
182.4	(Tony Murrietta) 2. GERALD FAYUANT ()	91.20	x			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	x			x
181.1	() 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ ()	90.55	Х			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ (Adam P. Andrews)	98.25	х			x
196.5	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	x			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	х			
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30	x			x
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	x			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	x			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	х			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	х			x
	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[08]	