## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Approving the Appointment of Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. as the Executive Director to Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Public Safety)

RESOLUTION NO. 08-612

1	WHEREAS, the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation provides the Chairman of the Tohono						
2	O'odham Nation the authority to appoint heads of governmental departments with the						
3	approval of the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council (Article VII Section 2e); and						
4	WHEREAS, the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation, in consultation with the Tohono						
5	O'odham Legislative Domestic Affairs Committee, has identified Mr. Edward Reina, Jr.						
6	as the appointee to the position of Executive Director to Tohono O'odham Nation						
7	Department of Public Safety; and						
8	WHEREAS, Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. is qualified to assume the position of Executive Director for the						
9	Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Public Safety; and						
10	WHEREAS, Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. has accepted the position and appointment upon approval of the						
11	Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.						
12	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby						
13	approve the appointment of Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. as the Executive Director for the						
14	Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Public Safety.						
15	BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED that Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. shall serve at the pleasure of the Chairman						
16	of the Tohono O'odham Nation.						
17	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council on the <u>08<sup>TH</sup>.</u> Day						
18	of OCTOBER, 2008 at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of 2,534.5 FOR; -0-						
19 20	AGAINST; <u>-0-</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[05]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 2 (e) of Article VII of the Constitution of the Tohono						
21	O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary -						
22	Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48						
23 24	Stat. 984).						
25	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL						
26							
27							
28	/leuler flor						
	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman						
29	$\mathbf{V}_{\mathcal{L}}$						
29 30	1/a - October						
29 30 31	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman  day of Oher, 2008						
29 30 31 32							
29 30 31 32 33	ATTEST:						
29 30 31 32 33 34							
29 30 31 32 33 34 35							
29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36	ATTEST:  Luna Japa						
29 30 31 32 33 34 35	ATTEST:						

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>08-612</u> (Approving the Appointment of Mr. Edward Reina, Jr. as the Executive Director to Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Public Safety) Page 2 of 2
1	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham
2	Nation on the 16 day of 10000 , 2008 at 5:14 o'clock, 1M.,
3	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective
4	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of
5	submittal.
6	
7	TOHONO O'ODHAM/LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL
8	
9	1/1.
10	Van 1912
11	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman
12	)
13	
14	V Dochha
15	[ $\[ \] \]$ APPROVED on the $\[ \] \[ \] \]$ day of $\[ \] \[ \] \]$ , 2008
16	[X] APPROVED on the 16 day of October, 2008  [ ] DISAPPROVED at 7:00 o'clock, .M.
17	[ ] DISAPPROVED at
18	
19	
20	NED NORDIE ID CHAIDMAN
21	NED NÖRRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN
22	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION
23 24	
24 25	
26	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the $\mathcal{O}_{\mathcal{S}_{}}$ day of
27	Returned to the negistative secretary on the day or
28	October , 2008, at 9:30 o'clock, A.M.
29	Total
30	
31	Auni Laka
32	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary
33	
34	
35	
36	
37	
38	
39	
40	
41	
42	
43	
44	
45	
46	

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. EDWARD REINA, JR. AS THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO TOHONO

O'ODHAM NATION DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN ETHEL GARCIA

SECOND: COUNCILMAN TIMOTHY JOAQUIN

DATE:

OCTOBER 08, 2008

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI	FRANCES MIGUEL     (Roberta Harvey)	158.45	x			X
316.9	2. FRANCES G. ANTONE (Vernon Smith)	158.45	Х			
CHUKUT KUK	1. ETHEL GARCIA	132.40	x			
264.8	2. VERLON M. JOSE	132.40	Х			
GU ACHI	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson)	113.95	x			
227.9	2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL	113.95	X			X
GU VO	1. GRACE MANUEL	99.60	x			
199.2	2. RAYMOND VICTOR	99.60	Х			
HICKIWAN	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA	86.00	x			
172.0	2. SANDRA ORTEGA	86.00	X			Х
PISINEMO	1. CHESTER ANTONE	91.20	x			
182.4	(Tony Murrietta) 2. GERALD FAYUANT ( )	91.20	х			
SAN LUCY	1. LORRAINE EILER	90.55	x			х
181.1	2. GLORIA RAMIREZ	90.55	X			
SAN XAVIER	1. FELICIA NUÑEZ	98.25	x			
196.5	2. OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25	X			
SCHUK TOAK	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Frederick Jose)	77.30	X			···
154.6	2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Absent) (Agnes Joaquin) (Present)	77.30	X			
SELLS	1.KIMBERLY LISTO	222.35	X			
444.7	2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL	222.35	X			
SIF OIDAK	1. WAVALENE ROMERO	97.20	X			
194.4	2. MARY LOPEZ	97.20	X			х
	TOTAL	2,534.5	2,534.5	-0-	-0-	[05]