## RESOLUTION OF THE TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

(Approving the Appointment of Mr. Jeffery Ortega as the Executive Director to the Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Membership Services)

**RESOLUTION NO. 08-664** 

1	WHEREAS,	the Constitution of the Tohono O'odham Nation provides the Chairman of the					
2		Tohono O'odham Nation the authority to appoint heads of governmental					
3		${\bf departments\ with\ the\ approval\ of\ the\ Tohono\ O'odham\ Legislative\ Council\ (Article\ Council\ Counc$					
4		VII Section 2e); and					
5	WHEREAS,	the Chairman of the Tohono O'odham Nation, in consultation with the Tohono					
6		O'odham Legislative Rules Committee, has identified Mr. Jeffery Ortega as the					
7		appointee for the Nation's Executive Director to the Tohono O'odham Nation					
8		Department of Membership Services; and					
9	WHEREAS,	${\bf Mr. JefferyOrtegaisqualifiedtoassumethepositionofExecutiveDirectorofTohono}$					
10		O'odham Nation Department of Membership Services; and					
11	WHEREAS,	${\bf Mr.  Jeffery  Ortega  has  accepted  the  position  and  appointment  upon  approval  of  the  }$					
12		Tohono O'odham Legislative Council.					
13	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Tohono O'odham Legislative Council does hereby						
14		approve the appointment of Mr. Jeffery Ortega as the Executive Director of the					
15		Tohono O'odham Nation Department of Membership Services.					
16	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Mr. Jeffery Ortega shall serve at the pleasure of the Chairman of						
17	the Tohono O'odham Nation.						
18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25	The foregoing Resolution was passed by the Tohono O'Odham Legislative Council on the <u>06<sup>TH</sup></u> . Day of <u>NOVEMBER</u> , <u>2008</u> at a meeting at which a quorum was present with a vote of <u>1,890.55</u> FOR; <u>471.95</u> AGAINST; <u>172.0</u> NOT VOTING; and <u>[04]</u> ABSENT, pursuant to the powers vested in the Council by Section 2 (e) of Article VII of the Constitution of the Tohono O'Odham Nation, adopted by the Tohono O'Odham Nation on January 18, 1986; and approved by the Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary - Indian Affairs (Operations) on March 6, 1986, pursuant to Section 16 of the Act of June 18, 1934 (48 Stat. 984).						
26 27 28		TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL					
28 29 30 31 32 33 34		Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman					
33 34 35		12 day of Mumber, 2008					

	RESOLUTION NO. <u>08-664</u>								
	(Approving the Appointment of Mr. Jeffery Ortega as the Executive Director to the Tohono O'odham								
	Nation Department of Membership Services)								
	Page 2 of 2								
1 2	ATTEST:								
3									
4	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
5	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
6 7 8	<u>U</u> day of <u>Nounder</u> , 2008.								
9	Said Resolution was submitted for approval to the office of the Chairman of the Tohono O'Odham								
10	Nation on the 12 day of William, 2008 at 116 o'clock, fM.,								
11	pursuant to the provisions of Section 5 of Article VII of the Constitution and will become effective								
12	upon his approval or upon his failure to either approve or disapprove it within 48 hours of								
13	submittal.								
14									
15	TOHONO O'ODHAM LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL								
16	A STATE OF THE PROPERTY OF THE								
17									
18	(/outon book								
19	Verlon M. Jose, Legislative Chairman								
20	verion in jose, negistative chairman								
21									
22	ightharpoonup								
23	[X] APPROVED on the 13 day of Window, 2008  [ ] DISAPPROVED at 5;11 o'clock, P.M.								
	[M] APPROVED on the 12 day of								
24	L I DECARDO VED								
25	[ ] DISAPPROVED at _S . L o'clock, _C .M.								
26	$\lambda$ $\lambda$ $\lambda$								
27									
28	NED NORTH HILANDIAN								
29	NED NOMRIS, JR., CHAIRMAN								
30	TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION								
31									
32									
33	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of								
34	Returned to the Legislative Secretary on the day of								
35 36	<u>NMMm</u> , 2008, at <u>1944</u> o'clock, <u>A</u> .M.								
37 38	Grunn Sada								
39 40	Lucille Lopez, Acting Legislative Secretary								
41	nucine lopes, acting registative secretary								
41									
43									
44									
45									
46 47									
<del></del> /	II								

ACTION: APPROVING THE APPOINTMENT OF MR. JEFFERY ORTEGA AS THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR TO THE

TOHONO O'ODHAM NATION DEPARTMENT OF MEMBERSHIP SERVICES

MOVED: COUNCILWOMAN PHYLLIS CACHORA

SECOND: COUNCILWOMAN OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON

DATE:

**NOVEMBER 06, 2008** 

DISTRICT	LEGISLATIVE REPRESENTATIVES	# OF VOTES	FOR	AGAINST	NOT VOTING	ABSENT
BABOQUIVARI 316.9	FRANCES MIGUEL     (Roberta Harvey)     FRANCES G. ANTONE     (Vernon Smith)	158.45 158.45	х	х		
CHUKUT KUK 264.8	1. ETHEL GARCIA ( ) 2. VERLON M. JOSE ( )	132.40 132.40	х	x		
GU ACHI 227.9	1. TIMOTHY L. JOAQUIN (Louis L. Johnson) 2. CYNTHIA E. MANUEL ( )	113.95 113.95	x x			x
GU VO 199.2	1. GRACE MANUEL  ( ) 2. RAYMOND VICTOR  ( )	99.60 99.60	x x			х
HICKIWAN 172.0	1. MICHELLE ORTEGA  ( ) 2. SANDRA ORTEGA ( )	86.00 86.00			x x	x
PISINEMO 182.4	1. CHESTER ANTONE (Tony Murrietta) 2. GERALD FAYUANT ( )	91.20 91.20	x x			
SAN LUCY 181.1	1. LORRAINE EILER  ( ) 2. GLORIA RAMIREZ  ( )	90.55 90.55		x x		х
SAN XAVIER 196.5	FELICIA NUÑEZ     (Adam P. Andrews)     OLIVIA VILLEGAS-LISTON     (Eileen A. Estrada-Lopez)	98.25 98.25	x x			
SCHUK TOAK 154.6	1. FRANCES B. CONDE (Fredrick Jose) 2. PHYLLIS CACHORA (Agnes Joaquin)	77.30 77.30	x x			
SELLS 444.7	1.KIMBERLY LISTO  ( ) 2.EVELYN B. JUAN MANUEL  ( )	222.35 222.35	x x			
SIF OIDAK 194.4	1. WAVALENE ROMERO  ( ) 2. MARY LOPEZ ( )	97.20 97.20	x x			х
	2,534.5	1,890.55	471.95	172.0	[04]	